Go to main content

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

8.2
Average score View 56 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina is a campsite with 105 touring pitches and 34 year round pitches. During low season, between 01-09-2020 - 09-11-2020, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 105 touring pitches at Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina in Orio (Gipuzkoa). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A family campsite 200m from the sea. It has a sandy beach and you can swim in the sea. There is a harbour for pleasure craft 50m from the campsite. The site has a swimming pool and a good restaurant. Located 20 km from San Sebastián.

CampingCard ACSI discount 01-09-2020 ⭤ 09/11/2020
  • 20
  • 2971
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

May 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
June 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (56)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.2

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.5
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.3
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
6.8
Sports facilities
7.2
Swimming pool
7.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.3

Lisa Lau, on this campsite in April 2016

8.0

Travelling party: Family with children, 12 - 18 years

Hot showers and clean bathrooms. The parking was flat and WiFi reached our campsite. Nice location walking distance to Orio and buses to San Sabastian and Bilbao.

Pauline, on this campsite in September 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Very friendly and welcoming reception. English spoken. A great site for motorhomers as local public transport is good. We cycled into Orio (5 mins), locked our bikes at the train station and went to San Sabastien and, on another day, to Zumaria. Facilities at campsite excellent, clean and plentiful. Beach and bars just outside the site. Some of the pitches might be a bit tricky to access due to narrow side roads in the campsite but all are flat and level.

Karen , on this campsite in June 2019

8.1

Travelling party: Couple

A very clean and tidy campsite. Staff were excellent, café was good and the atmosphere was lovely. Will definitely return.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your encouraging words. All the staff works hard to keep all the facilities clean, in perfect stay and to help our clients in everything they need.
Your opinion makes us to keep working harder every day to maintain these services.
We are looking forward to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Amanda Bayliss, on this campsite in September 2018

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

Stopped here on our way to Portugal, had a moment of oh-oh what have we come to when we first arrived. Checked in and found this place to actually be quite lovely. The staff were really friendly, you are told your pitch which is fine, however they\\\\\\\'re not huge (but ok). The facilities are really good but with toilet paper on the outside (which is better than none at all). The pool area looked nice but was closed at this time of year. The location is its biggest attribute, almost on the beach and a quiet stroll into the town. Not a great place for us to use our road bikes but we only stayed a couple of nights. We had one day in the town for lunch and the next on the beach. Had we stayed longer there are some lovely headland walks. Don\\\\\\\'t worry about the road bridge, you hardly notice it once you\\\\\\\'re pitched with a wine in hand.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for taking your time to write some positive words about our campsite.
Is glad to know that even was unexpected at first sight, your stay was finally grateful. As you have said, location is one of our strengths, as we are close from the beach and close from town, where you can find all the amenities you need.
We love your positive attitude and how you make a good time from a quite annoying situation, but after all, there´s nothing a glass of wine can´t solve!
Thank you for your encouraging words and we are looking forward to see you next time.
Kind regards,

Owen Morey, on this campsite in March 2017

8.8

Travelling party: Couple

Reception staff very friendly & helpful. We were able to choose our own pitch. Very level site. Toilet block was kept exceptionally clean at all times whilst we were there for the three days. Nice large toilet & shower cubicles with plenty of hot water in showers. Washing up sinks, only two with hot water though. We didn't use the restaurant, but it was always busy. Beach or harbour are just a few mins walk. Orio village is just a level mile away with regular buses & trains to Donostia / San Sebastián, well worth a visit.

William Adshead, on this campsite in May 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

Overall, this a very good site with a mixture of touring pitches and bungalows. The location close to a beach and nearby small town (1km) makes it a very convenient stopover for a few days or more. Easy access by rail into San Sebastián - train every 30mins, about €2,60 single and takes about 25 minutes.
The site is level and very well maintained. The showers/toilets are plentiful and excellent. Wifi is free and generally ok, but not 100% reliable. Staff are friendly and speak good english.
There are several cafes/restaurants nearby and the bar next door includes a small shop and bread each morning - also serves nice tapas (pintzos). The beach area has a nice family vibe at the weekend with plenty of locals enjoying the sea front area. The motorway bridge mentioned in several other reviews really isn’t a problem and should not discourage you - you’ll hardly notice it.
Barking dogs are frequently a nuisance on campsites, but animals aren’t allowed on this campsite. That would be perfect, except that there are 2 dogs in a nearby property that, when left outside, can bark incessantly for hours - really annoying! Can’t blame the campsite for anti-social neighbours though.
The site uses some substantial pitch marking posts plus a few stone markers for good measure. Care is needed when manoeuvring as they’re location is not so obvious as trees and access roads are narrow. The trees were severely pruned/pollarded when we visited in early May, but even so, I wouldn’t expect much shade later in the season. Swimming pool not open in early season, but looked good.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
First of all, thank you for choosing Orio Kanpina for spending some days and thank you too for your positive valuation. We appreciate you made a detailed valuation about each one of the services offered by the campsite, as well as the surrounding offer.
We work to provide you the best services both in our facilities and our personalized attention so good to know that our work is good valuated.
Even not allowing animals is an inconvenient for some people, we know that many of our clients come to us especially for this reason, as we don´t allow dogs, we can assure their rest.
With such a good resume, we only have to thank you again for your sincere opinion and we are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Brown, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

As usual a fantastic campsite, staff extremely helpful. Near beach, near town, 5th or 6th visit for us & will keep returning, clean toilet facilities, all in all great facilities. Love this campsite.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for visiting our campsite one and again, there´s no better signal for us than a client that repeats the experience. We feel very thankful and very lucky to have faithful clients as you are.
For sure, we are looking forward to get your visit again.
Kind regards.

Wendy Reynolds, on this campsite in September 2018

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely site within easy walking distance of beautiful beach. interesting town reached by pleasant walk along the river. Plenty trains to San Sebastian - worth a visit. Only surprise when checking in the Dutch couple in front of us were turned away as they had 2 cats. Apparently neither cats nor dogs are allowed so be aware!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your stay in our campsite and for letting us this comment.
As you said, one of our strength is our location, which makes the visitor easy getting the beach, the town and the nearby towns and cities, like San Sebastian.
Thank to these comment, we have enough information to improve our services. We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Stephen Booth, on this campsite in September 2016

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

The campsite is a short walk from Orio, which has a railway station. We took the train to Donostia/San Sebastián. It's a 25 minutes rail journey and excellent value for money. Donostia is a beautiful town with a fantastic beach and lovely pintxos (the Basque equivalent of tapas) bars.

Nina Dally, on this campsite in June 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

We really liked the position of this campsite; close to the beach and a lovely cycle ride by the river into the town. Very well laid out site with clean facilities. The staff were very helpful when we had a problem with our campervan.
The bars and restaurants just outside were good too.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your encouraging words. We try to do our best to offer you the best services and these kinds of comments helps us to go on.
The locations on Orio, as our campsite location, allows the tourist to visit most of towns and cities of the Basque County and from the campsite you can reach any point of the town of Orio by a cycle ride, as it´s a flat town.
We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
25-05-2020 till 09-11-2020
Area
3.2 ha
Altitude
6m
Number of touring pitches
105 (60 - 80m2)
Number of permanent pitches
34
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Advance booking not possible
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Snack bar
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Takeaway meals
  • Pizzeria
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
  • Restaurant (with ample choice)
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:9 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Grass beach
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:5 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:2 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,2 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
  • Disabled sanitary facilities only open for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 73% 125 4
Feb 76% 75 4
Mar 77% 96 5
Apr 75% 160 6
May 80% 122 6
Jun 82% 166 7
Jul 86% 168 6
Aug 85% 119 6
Sep 79% 114 6
Oct 76% 182 5
Nov 77% 233 3
Dec 73% 114 3

Weather forecast

Mon

13 / 07

 

Tue

14 / 07

 

Wed

15 / 07

 

Thu

16 / 07

 

Fri

17 / 07

 

Sat

18 / 07

 

Sun

19 / 07

 
Max. 21.3° 20.1° 19.4° 19.9° 21.1° 24° 25.1°
Min. 16.7° 15.7° 15° 14.9° 15.6° 16.2° 17.7°
Precipitation 5% 20% 40% 25% 20% 10% 15%
Wind direction NW NW NW N N N N
Wind speed 3 3 3 3 3 3 3
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina
    Hondartza Bidea s/n
    20810 / Orio
    Spain
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    43°17'11"N 2°7'33"W
  • A8 from San Sebastián exit Orio, then direction beach/campsite. A8 from Bilbao: exit Zarautz, then direction Orio. Follow N634 beyond river bridge, left at 1st roundabout then direction beach/campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time