Go to main content

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

8.2
Average score View 55 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina is a campsite with 105 touring pitches and 34 year round pitches. During low season, between 01-09-2020 - 09-11-2020, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 105 touring pitches at Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina in Orio (Gipuzkoa). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A family campsite 200m from the sea. It has a sandy beach and you can swim in the sea. There is a harbour for pleasure craft 50m from the campsite. The site has a swimming pool and a good restaurant. Located 20 km from San Sebastián.

CampingCard ACSI discount 01-09-2020 ⭤ 09/11/2020
  • 20
  • 2971
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (55)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.2

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.5
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.3
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
6.8
Sports facilities
7.2
Swimming pool
7.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.3

Lisa Lau, on this campsite in April 2016

8.0

Travelling party: Family with children, 12 - 18 years

Hot showers and clean bathrooms. The parking was flat and WiFi reached our campsite. Nice location walking distance to Orio and buses to San Sabastian and Bilbao.

Heather Sheane, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed for two nights at Camping Orio and were very impressed by the campsite, its facilities and the efficient way it is managed. The staff were pleasant and helpful on arrival. The sanitation facilities were spotless. I had the best shower of our entire trip. Hot, hot water and wonderful shower pressure.

We went into San Sebastián in the car and explored the city and then did the cliff walk to Donei Passai. It was wonderful but arduous, especially as the rain started near the end of our walk. The camp site is a great base to explore San Sebastián. It is about 20minutes by car or else you can take the train which leaves once an hour.

We also enjoyed the beach which is close by the campsite. The little town of Orio is walking distance and well worth while exploring. This is a great campsite managed to a very high standard.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
First of all, thank you for choosing Orio Kanpina to spend some days in this coastal Basque Country area. And thank you too for these encouraging words.
It is great to know that you enjoyed all the different possibilities that the campsite, the town of Orio and the nearby places offer.
Otherwise, we have no words to describe what we feel when we hear that our showers and toilets are the best you have tried. This really helps us to keep working as hard as we did to improve our services each season. For sure, we will try to maintain the high standard you talked about.
We are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Jane Sault, on this campsite in December 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

A great site which we wouldn\\\'t hesitate to use again. Yes, there is rush hour noise from the motorway in the distance but nothing terrible. Staff are fantastic and the showers are always hot, powerful and clean. We ended up staying for a week because there was so much to do. We biked into town (keeping next to the estuary brings you to an underground Eroski supermarket, just before the schools and sports pitches). We used the train to visit Donostia (San Sebastian) and Zarautz, both beautiful places with amazing bays and beaches. Unfortunately the train to Bilbao takes over 2 hours but the hour drive to the Guggenheim museum was well worth it. One tip if you are going to be at the site over a weekend - don\\\'t pitch near the grassy area with a play chalet. On Friday evenings there is an invasion of Spanish families whose children enjoy themselves until midnight in a very loud fashion!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you so much for choosing our campsite for your stay. It is good to know that finally was longer than you planned as there are many things to do and to see. Our good locations offer the tourist a good base point to visit almost all the Basque Country without changing the accommodation.
We find your tip very suitable for clients that find a quiet place, because as you have seen, the atmosphere during week days or on weekends changes completely.
That is a good point; we have different ambiances and moment for different type of clients.
After all, we hope you could visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,

Patricia McFarlane, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Love this campsite so much we stayed at the beginning and the last few days of our holiday. Staff were really helpful and facilities were really good. Caught the train into San Sebastián which was really easy. Lovely walk over to Zarautz.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your sincere opinion. It´s really pleasant to know that not once, but you visited us in two times! That makes us feel very thankful.
We always try to do our best to offer you the best services and facilities and we´ll keep on doing it.
We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Nick Padwick, on this campsite in April 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely site, right near a beautiful beach. The staff were really helpful. There\\\'s a lovely cycle or walk in to the little town which is worth doing.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for choosing our campsite and thank you for you sincere opinion. We are glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory and also that you enjoyed all the area.
We hope to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Amanda Bayliss, on this campsite in September 2018

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

Stopped here on our way to Portugal, had a moment of oh-oh what have we come to when we first arrived. Checked in and found this place to actually be quite lovely. The staff were really friendly, you are told your pitch which is fine, however they\\\\\\\'re not huge (but ok). The facilities are really good but with toilet paper on the outside (which is better than none at all). The pool area looked nice but was closed at this time of year. The location is its biggest attribute, almost on the beach and a quiet stroll into the town. Not a great place for us to use our road bikes but we only stayed a couple of nights. We had one day in the town for lunch and the next on the beach. Had we stayed longer there are some lovely headland walks. Don\\\\\\\'t worry about the road bridge, you hardly notice it once you\\\\\\\'re pitched with a wine in hand.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for taking your time to write some positive words about our campsite.
Is glad to know that even was unexpected at first sight, your stay was finally grateful. As you have said, location is one of our strengths, as we are close from the beach and close from town, where you can find all the amenities you need.
We love your positive attitude and how you make a good time from a quite annoying situation, but after all, there´s nothing a glass of wine can´t solve!
Thank you for your encouraging words and we are looking forward to see you next time.
Kind regards,

Ian Searle, on this campsite in October 2017

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

The site is hard to find but we just followed signs to the beach - then you can't miss it. Orio is a nice town but take the train to St Sebastián for the real treat - only Euros 5 return. Beach is excellent with good swimming and clean water and sand (lots of it!) Facilities are some of the best I have seen with huge showers and toilets. Reception staff superb. As others have said local restaurant food is OK-ish. We barely noticed noise from the motorway bridge but it is an eyesore - someone in the 80s thought it was a good idea!

Brown, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

As usual a fantastic campsite, staff extremely helpful. Near beach, near town, 5th or 6th visit for us & will keep returning, clean toilet facilities, all in all great facilities. Love this campsite.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for visiting our campsite one and again, there´s no better signal for us than a client that repeats the experience. We feel very thankful and very lucky to have faithful clients as you are.
For sure, we are looking forward to get your visit again.
Kind regards.

Wendy Reynolds, on this campsite in September 2018

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely site within easy walking distance of beautiful beach. interesting town reached by pleasant walk along the river. Plenty trains to San Sebastian - worth a visit. Only surprise when checking in the Dutch couple in front of us were turned away as they had 2 cats. Apparently neither cats nor dogs are allowed so be aware!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your stay in our campsite and for letting us this comment.
As you said, one of our strength is our location, which makes the visitor easy getting the beach, the town and the nearby towns and cities, like San Sebastian.
Thank to these comment, we have enough information to improve our services. We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Jonathan Western, on this campsite in October 2018

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed on this campsite for 2 nights before getting ferry home after a month in both Spain and Portugal these were the best showers yet -superb. Good situation with local transport to nearby towns. Short walk into town switch off sat nav as enter town as sends you through medieval streets use campsite signs instead.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your sincere opinion. We want to thank you as well for choosing Orio Kanpina for your stay as the end of your trip.
We are glad to hear that after a long trip, our showers were the best you tried. That encourages us to keep working hard to offer you the best services.
We are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
25-05-2020 till 09-11-2020
Area
3.2 ha
Altitude
6m
Number of touring pitches
105 (60 - 80m2)
Number of permanent pitches
34
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Advance booking not possible
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Snack bar
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Takeaway meals
  • Pizzeria
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
  • Restaurant (with ample choice)
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:9 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Grass beach
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:5 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:2 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,2 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
  • Disabled sanitary facilities only open for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 73% 125 4
Feb 76% 75 4
Mar 77% 96 5
Apr 75% 160 6
May 80% 122 6
Jun 82% 166 7
Jul 86% 168 6
Aug 85% 119 6
Sep 79% 114 6
Oct 76% 182 5
Nov 77% 233 3
Dec 73% 114 3

Weather forecast

Sat

19 / 09

 

Sun

20 / 09

 

Mon

21 / 09

 

Tue

22 / 09

 

Wed

23 / 09

 

Thu

24 / 09

 

Fri

25 / 09

 
Max. 25° 21.4° 21.1° 20.8° 20.8° 17.6° 15.7°
Min. 19.5° 16.4° 16.1° 15.8° 15.8° 14.9° 11.7°
Precipitation 55% 50% 25% 75% 75% 80% 80%
Wind direction S SW N W SW W W
Wind speed 4 3 2 2 3 4 4
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina
    Hondartza Bidea s/n
    20810 / Orio
    Spain
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    43°17'11"N 2°7'33"W
  • A8 from San Sebastián exit Orio, then direction beach/campsite. A8 from Bilbao: exit Zarautz, then direction Orio. Follow N634 beyond river bridge, left at 1st roundabout then direction beach/campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time