Go to main content

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

8.2
Average score View 55 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina is a campsite with 105 touring pitches and 34 year round pitches. During low season, between 01-09-2020 - 09-11-2020, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 105 touring pitches at Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina in Orio (Gipuzkoa). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A family campsite 200m from the sea. It has a sandy beach and you can swim in the sea. There is a harbour for pleasure craft 50m from the campsite. The site has a swimming pool and a good restaurant. Located 20 km from San Sebastián.

CampingCard ACSI discount 01-09-2020 ⭤ 09/11/2020
  • 20
  • 2971
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (55)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.2

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.5
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.3
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
6.8
Sports facilities
7.2
Swimming pool
7.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.3

Arthur Meddings, on this campsite in June 2019

7.8

Travelling party: Seniors

Nice clean site ideal location for ports and SAN Sebastian, the site has its own restaurant at the entrance that provides reasonably priced meals and drinks. The toilets are clean and tidy and the showers always have plenty of hot water. it’s a short walk in to the town were there are a number of restaurants and you can catch the bus in to SAN Sebastian.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for choosing our campsite to spend your holidays and for your sincere opinion about it. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed most of the facilities and tourism options that offers our campsite. The campsite is 2 minutes far from the beach and a 20 minute walk from the town, where you can enjoy our gastronomy, our cultural offer and also where you can take a bus or a train to visit the nearby cities like San Sebastian.
We are looking forward to see you back in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Stephen Booth, on this campsite in September 2016

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

The campsite is a short walk from Orio, which has a railway station. We took the train to Donostia/San Sebastián. It's a 25 minutes rail journey and excellent value for money. Donostia is a beautiful town with a fantastic beach and lovely pintxos (the Basque equivalent of tapas) bars.

Wendy Reynolds, on this campsite in September 2018

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely site within easy walking distance of beautiful beach. interesting town reached by pleasant walk along the river. Plenty trains to San Sebastian - worth a visit. Only surprise when checking in the Dutch couple in front of us were turned away as they had 2 cats. Apparently neither cats nor dogs are allowed so be aware!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your stay in our campsite and for letting us this comment.
As you said, one of our strength is our location, which makes the visitor easy getting the beach, the town and the nearby towns and cities, like San Sebastian.
Thank to these comment, we have enough information to improve our services. We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Lisa Lau, on this campsite in April 2016

8.0

Travelling party: Family with children, 12 - 18 years

Hot showers and clean bathrooms. The parking was flat and WiFi reached our campsite. Nice location walking distance to Orio and buses to San Sabastian and Bilbao.

Amanda Bayliss, on this campsite in September 2018

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

Stopped here on our way to Portugal, had a moment of oh-oh what have we come to when we first arrived. Checked in and found this place to actually be quite lovely. The staff were really friendly, you are told your pitch which is fine, however they\\\\\\\'re not huge (but ok). The facilities are really good but with toilet paper on the outside (which is better than none at all). The pool area looked nice but was closed at this time of year. The location is its biggest attribute, almost on the beach and a quiet stroll into the town. Not a great place for us to use our road bikes but we only stayed a couple of nights. We had one day in the town for lunch and the next on the beach. Had we stayed longer there are some lovely headland walks. Don\\\\\\\'t worry about the road bridge, you hardly notice it once you\\\\\\\'re pitched with a wine in hand.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for taking your time to write some positive words about our campsite.
Is glad to know that even was unexpected at first sight, your stay was finally grateful. As you have said, location is one of our strengths, as we are close from the beach and close from town, where you can find all the amenities you need.
We love your positive attitude and how you make a good time from a quite annoying situation, but after all, there´s nothing a glass of wine can´t solve!
Thank you for your encouraging words and we are looking forward to see you next time.
Kind regards,

Nigel Emson, on this campsite in October 2019

8.1

Travelling party: Group of friends

A nice site with very friendly staff although you can’t reserve a pitch. Fantastic toilets and showers, swimming pool closes at the start of September!
1min from site bar with very reasonable prices and nice tapas, 2mins from local hotel with a superb 18e menu of the day (watch out for the weekend rip offs), 3min walk from the beach and 15min walk into town!
Slight noise when the wind blows the wrong way from the elevated motorway, but the worst noise is from loads of kids that arrive with their Spanish parents and stay in the chalets and run riot until midnight on Friday and Saturday nights!!
Site is busy and often full at weekends even in September so arrive midweek. Would definitely stay again but well away from the chalets and statics!!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your sincere opinion.
We really appreciate that you liked all our facilities, it´s important to us to keep the clean every moment and last years we made some investments to have better water service.
As you have said, our campsite is very well located, close from beach and from town, but also Orio is ia good point to visit the rest of the Basque Country, by private vehicles and by public transport.
Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that the noise of the motorway was annoying to you, unfortunately, we can do nothing to change it.
As you said, spring and autumn season, many young families come from the areas nearby to spend the weekend, especially if the weather is good. As there´s more people in the campsite, there´s more noise but we are very strict with the silence time. 12:00pm should be total silence and our night guard makes sure of it.
With all, we hope to see you again in further occasions.
Kind regards,

Ian Searle, on this campsite in October 2017

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

The site is hard to find but we just followed signs to the beach - then you can't miss it. Orio is a nice town but take the train to St Sebastián for the real treat - only Euros 5 return. Beach is excellent with good swimming and clean water and sand (lots of it!) Facilities are some of the best I have seen with huge showers and toilets. Reception staff superb. As others have said local restaurant food is OK-ish. We barely noticed noise from the motorway bridge but it is an eyesore - someone in the 80s thought it was a good idea!

Karen , on this campsite in June 2019

8.1

Travelling party: Couple

A very clean and tidy campsite. Staff were excellent, café was good and the atmosphere was lovely. Will definitely return.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your encouraging words. All the staff works hard to keep all the facilities clean, in perfect stay and to help our clients in everything they need.
Your opinion makes us to keep working harder every day to maintain these services.
We are looking forward to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Jonathan Western, on this campsite in October 2018

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed on this campsite for 2 nights before getting ferry home after a month in both Spain and Portugal these were the best showers yet -superb. Good situation with local transport to nearby towns. Short walk into town switch off sat nav as enter town as sends you through medieval streets use campsite signs instead.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your sincere opinion. We want to thank you as well for choosing Orio Kanpina for your stay as the end of your trip.
We are glad to hear that after a long trip, our showers were the best you tried. That encourages us to keep working hard to offer you the best services.
We are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Ian Johnstone, on this campsite in October 2017

8.6

Travelling party: Seniors

Great site for a few days sight seeing. Pulled in with a large outfit, 14 metres long and was ok. Flat pitches, just big enough for 8+ metres caravan and car. no awning space. Facilities and staff excellent. Surroundings blotted out by low cloud for 3 days but when the sun came out it was amazing. Great beach. Huge surf waves but lots of space to people watch. Train to San Sebastian well worth the walk into Orio and also bus into Zarauch from Orio.

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
25-05-2020 till 09-11-2020
Area
3.2 ha
Altitude
6m
Number of touring pitches
105 (60 - 80m2)
Number of permanent pitches
34
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Advance booking not possible
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Snack bar
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Takeaway meals
  • Pizzeria
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
  • Restaurant (with ample choice)
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:9 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Grass beach
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:5 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:2 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,2 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
  • Disabled sanitary facilities only open for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 73% 125 4
Feb 76% 75 4
Mar 77% 96 5
Apr 75% 160 6
May 80% 122 6
Jun 82% 166 7
Jul 86% 168 6
Aug 85% 119 6
Sep 79% 114 6
Oct 76% 182 5
Nov 77% 233 3
Dec 73% 114 3

Weather forecast

Sat

19 / 09

 

Sun

20 / 09

 

Mon

21 / 09

 

Tue

22 / 09

 

Wed

23 / 09

 

Thu

24 / 09

 

Fri

25 / 09

 
Max. 25° 21.4° 21.1° 20.8° 20.8° 17.6° 15.7°
Min. 19.5° 16.4° 16.1° 15.8° 15.8° 14.9° 11.7°
Precipitation 55% 50% 25% 75% 75% 80% 80%
Wind direction S SW N W SW W W
Wind speed 4 3 2 2 3 4 4
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina
    Hondartza Bidea s/n
    20810 / Orio
    Spain
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    43°17'11"N 2°7'33"W
  • A8 from San Sebastián exit Orio, then direction beach/campsite. A8 from Bilbao: exit Zarautz, then direction Orio. Follow N634 beyond river bridge, left at 1st roundabout then direction beach/campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time