Go to main content

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

8.2
Average score View 62 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina is a campsite with 105 touring pitches and 34 year round pitches. During low season, between , the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 105 touring pitches at Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina in Orio (Gipuzkoa). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A family campsite 200m from the sea. It has a sandy beach and you can swim in the sea. There is a harbour for pleasure craft 50m from the campsite. The site has a swimming pool and a good restaurant. Located 20 km from San Sebastián.

CampingCard ACSI discount
  • 20
  • 2971
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (62)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.2

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.5
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.3
Child friendliness
8.0
Entertainment
6.8
Sports facilities
7.2
Swimming pool
7.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.4

Amanda Bayliss, on this campsite in September 2018

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

Stopped here on our way to Portugal, had a moment of oh-oh what have we come to when we first arrived. Checked in and found this place to actually be quite lovely. The staff were really friendly, you are told your pitch which is fine, however they\\\\\\\'re not huge (but ok). The facilities are really good but with toilet paper on the outside (which is better than none at all). The pool area looked nice but was closed at this time of year. The location is its biggest attribute, almost on the beach and a quiet stroll into the town. Not a great place for us to use our road bikes but we only stayed a couple of nights. We had one day in the town for lunch and the next on the beach. Had we stayed longer there are some lovely headland walks. Don\\\\\\\'t worry about the road bridge, you hardly notice it once you\\\\\\\'re pitched with a wine in hand.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for taking your time to write some positive words about our campsite.
Is glad to know that even was unexpected at first sight, your stay was finally grateful. As you have said, location is one of our strengths, as we are close from the beach and close from town, where you can find all the amenities you need.
We love your positive attitude and how you make a good time from a quite annoying situation, but after all, there´s nothing a glass of wine can´t solve!
Thank you for your encouraging words and we are looking forward to see you next time.
Kind regards,

Wendy Reynolds, on this campsite in September 2018

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely site within easy walking distance of beautiful beach. interesting town reached by pleasant walk along the river. Plenty trains to San Sebastian - worth a visit. Only surprise when checking in the Dutch couple in front of us were turned away as they had 2 cats. Apparently neither cats nor dogs are allowed so be aware!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your stay in our campsite and for letting us this comment.
As you said, one of our strength is our location, which makes the visitor easy getting the beach, the town and the nearby towns and cities, like San Sebastian.
Thank to these comment, we have enough information to improve our services. We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

John Jackson, on this campsite in September 2018

8.8

Travelling party: Seniors

Stayed here couple of nights. Pitches a bit tight, close & not too long. Ok for our campervan but for longer vehicles could be overhanging pitch. Consequently felt a bit overshadowed by neighbours. But still a decent site. Location about 10 minute pleasant walk from local village of Orio. Driving to site was ok for our smaller van going thru village but again could be tight for longer,larger vehicle. Check your route as there is an alternative to avoid the village one way system. Close to the beach, although did have pool, closed at time of our visit. Toilet/shower facilities very clean (with toilet seats & paper outside cubicles). Just had drink in bar so cannot comment of food, small shop, looked well stocked for basics. A very pleasant stay, thank you. Reception staff spoke good English. Thanks

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear Mr.Jackson,
Thank you for your stay in Orio Kanpina and thank you too for your sincere opinion about it.
We are sorry if you felt overshadowed by the neighbors, this is not a very big campsite and we have the biggest plots as possible, all of them between 70m2 and 80m2 and depending on your vehicles, we try to allocate the most suitable plot for each one.
As you mention that the way to the campsite through the village is quite tight, we want to mention that in ACSI guide, as well as in other sites, our GPS indications shows you the way not crossing the village but going around it. We hope that for further occasion this information will be worth it for you.
So, we are looking forward to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Steve Baker, on this campsite in June 2018

8.7

Travelling party: Seniors

You can’t book this campsite but we were lucky and got a lovely pitch at the end of a row. It is near a very lovely town, with a train to get into San Sebastián. The beach is lovely and only a 2 minute walk.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for choosing our campsite to spend some days and for letting us a comment about it.
As you mentioned, our location allows our clients to get to the beach and to the town easily, as well as to other touristic attractions like San Sebastian.
We are glad to know that your stay in our campsite was good and we hope we can see us each other next time.
Kind regards,

Nick Padwick, on this campsite in April 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed here for 2 nights. Lovely site, right near a beautiful beach. The staff were really helpful. There\\\'s a lovely cycle or walk in to the little town which is worth doing.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for choosing our campsite and thank you for you sincere opinion. We are glad to know that your stay with us was satisfactory and also that you enjoyed all the area.
We hope to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Laurence Barnes, on this campsite in March 2018

8.8

Travelling party: Seniors

We were here for 4 nights our last site before catching the Santander ferry back home.
We really liked the site. It\\\'s not too big, more set up for tourers than long-term residents, and just 200m from a pleasant beach. Orio is a lovely little town with everything that you need, and the train takes 25 mins to get into San Sebastian - or an hour the other way into Bilbao. The walking is lovely and the people are very friendly. The site has excellent facilities and is very well maintained. The pitches are a firm grass and are of a very good size. Overall, a site to recommend, and we will be coming back.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
First of all, thank you for choosing Orio Kanpina for spending some days and thank you too for your positive valuation. We appreciate you made a detailed valuation about each one of the services offered by the campsite, as well as the surrounding offer.
We work to provide you the best services both in our facilities and our personalized attention so it is good to know that our work is good valuated.
There is no better signal for a satisfied client than telling us that you want to come back, we are looking forward for it.
Kind regards,

Jane Sault, on this campsite in December 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

A great site which we wouldn\\\'t hesitate to use again. Yes, there is rush hour noise from the motorway in the distance but nothing terrible. Staff are fantastic and the showers are always hot, powerful and clean. We ended up staying for a week because there was so much to do. We biked into town (keeping next to the estuary brings you to an underground Eroski supermarket, just before the schools and sports pitches). We used the train to visit Donostia (San Sebastian) and Zarautz, both beautiful places with amazing bays and beaches. Unfortunately the train to Bilbao takes over 2 hours but the hour drive to the Guggenheim museum was well worth it. One tip if you are going to be at the site over a weekend - don\\\'t pitch near the grassy area with a play chalet. On Friday evenings there is an invasion of Spanish families whose children enjoy themselves until midnight in a very loud fashion!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you so much for choosing our campsite for your stay. It is good to know that finally was longer than you planned as there are many things to do and to see. Our good locations offer the tourist a good base point to visit almost all the Basque Country without changing the accommodation.
We find your tip very suitable for clients that find a quiet place, because as you have seen, the atmosphere during week days or on weekends changes completely.
That is a good point; we have different ambiances and moment for different type of clients.
After all, we hope you could visit us again in the future.
Kind regards,

Ian Johnstone, on this campsite in October 2017

8.6

Travelling party: Seniors

Great site for a few days sight seeing. Pulled in with a large outfit, 14 metres long and was ok. Flat pitches, just big enough for 8+ metres caravan and car. no awning space. Facilities and staff excellent. Surroundings blotted out by low cloud for 3 days but when the sun came out it was amazing. Great beach. Huge surf waves but lots of space to people watch. Train to San Sebastian well worth the walk into Orio and also bus into Zarauch from Orio.

Ian Searle, on this campsite in October 2017

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

The site is hard to find but we just followed signs to the beach - then you can't miss it. Orio is a nice town but take the train to St Sebastián for the real treat - only Euros 5 return. Beach is excellent with good swimming and clean water and sand (lots of it!) Facilities are some of the best I have seen with huge showers and toilets. Reception staff superb. As others have said local restaurant food is OK-ish. We barely noticed noise from the motorway bridge but it is an eyesore - someone in the 80s thought it was a good idea!

Pauline, on this campsite in September 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Very friendly and welcoming reception. English spoken. A great site for motorhomers as local public transport is good. We cycled into Orio (5 mins), locked our bikes at the train station and went to San Sabastien and, on another day, to Zumaria. Facilities at campsite excellent, clean and plentiful. Beach and bars just outside the site. Some of the pitches might be a bit tricky to access due to narrow side roads in the campsite but all are flat and level.

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
25-05-2020 till 09-11-2020
Area
3.2 ha
Altitude
6m
Number of touring pitches
105 (60 - 80m2)
Number of permanent pitches
34
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Advance booking not possible
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Snack bar
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Takeaway meals
  • Pizzeria
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
  • Restaurant (with ample choice)
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:9 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Grass beach
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:5 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:2 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,2 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
  • Disabled sanitary facilities only open for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 73% 125 4
Feb 76% 75 4
Mar 77% 96 5
Apr 75% 160 6
May 80% 122 6
Jun 82% 166 7
Jul 86% 168 6
Aug 85% 119 6
Sep 79% 114 6
Oct 76% 182 5
Nov 77% 233 3
Dec 73% 114 3

Weather forecast

Sat

05 / 12

 

Sun

06 / 12

 

Mon

07 / 12

 

Tue

08 / 12

 

Wed

09 / 12

 

Thu

10 / 12

 

Fri

11 / 12

 
Max. 7.5° 8.4° 8.5° 12.5° 13.9°
Min. 3.7° 5.2° 5.1° 5.5° 4.8° 6.3° 9.9°
Precipitation 95% 95% 95% 95% 90% 85% 80%
Wind direction W W W W SW SW W
Wind speed 5 5 5 5 4 4 4
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina
    Hondartza Bidea s/n
    20810 / Orio
    Spain
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    43°17'11"N 2°7'33"W
  • A8 from San Sebastián exit Orio, then direction beach/campsite. A8 from Bilbao: exit Zarautz, then direction Orio. Follow N634 beyond river bridge, left at 1st roundabout then direction beach/campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time