Go to main content

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

8.2
Average score View 55 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina is a campsite with 105 touring pitches and 34 year round pitches. During low season, between 01-09-2020 - 09-11-2020, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 105 touring pitches at Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina in Orio (Gipuzkoa). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A family campsite 200m from the sea. It has a sandy beach and you can swim in the sea. There is a harbour for pleasure craft 50m from the campsite. The site has a swimming pool and a good restaurant. Located 20 km from San Sebastián.

CampingCard ACSI discount 01-09-2020 ⭤ 09/11/2020
  • 20
  • 2971
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (55)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.2

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.5
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.3
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
6.8
Sports facilities
7.2
Swimming pool
7.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.3

Callister, on this campsite in October 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Seniors

Excellent site. Bar/restaurant at gate, hotel 2 mins across road with menu including wine and tapas. Two more bars/restaurant within 5 min walk. Beach fab, loads if walking and proper cycling paths. 15 min walk to railway station where you can go to San Sebastian or the other way. Staff fabulous, know the area well and cannot be more helpful. Pitches huge. Pool closed but looked good. Did not use sports facilities. will we be back - well, of course! What\\\'s not to like!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
thank you very much for your encouraging words.
It´really good to hear from you that you liked all our facilietes and that you also enjoyed the stay to visit nearby cities like San Sebastian. Orio due to its good lokation, it´s close from beach and town, as well as from public trasport to visit the area and of course, it´s a perfect place to ride a bike or a walk.
We are looking forward to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Nigel Emson, on this campsite in October 2019

8.1

Travelling party: Group of friends

A nice site with very friendly staff although you can’t reserve a pitch. Fantastic toilets and showers, swimming pool closes at the start of September!
1min from site bar with very reasonable prices and nice tapas, 2mins from local hotel with a superb 18e menu of the day (watch out for the weekend rip offs), 3min walk from the beach and 15min walk into town!
Slight noise when the wind blows the wrong way from the elevated motorway, but the worst noise is from loads of kids that arrive with their Spanish parents and stay in the chalets and run riot until midnight on Friday and Saturday nights!!
Site is busy and often full at weekends even in September so arrive midweek. Would definitely stay again but well away from the chalets and statics!!

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your sincere opinion.
We really appreciate that you liked all our facilities, it´s important to us to keep the clean every moment and last years we made some investments to have better water service.
As you have said, our campsite is very well located, close from beach and from town, but also Orio is ia good point to visit the rest of the Basque Country, by private vehicles and by public transport.
Otherwise, we are sorry to hear that the noise of the motorway was annoying to you, unfortunately, we can do nothing to change it.
As you said, spring and autumn season, many young families come from the areas nearby to spend the weekend, especially if the weather is good. As there´s more people in the campsite, there´s more noise but we are very strict with the silence time. 12:00pm should be total silence and our night guard makes sure of it.
With all, we hope to see you again in further occasions.
Kind regards,

Nina Dally, on this campsite in June 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

We really liked the position of this campsite; close to the beach and a lovely cycle ride by the river into the town. Very well laid out site with clean facilities. The staff were very helpful when we had a problem with our campervan.
The bars and restaurants just outside were good too.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your encouraging words. We try to do our best to offer you the best services and these kinds of comments helps us to go on.
The locations on Orio, as our campsite location, allows the tourist to visit most of towns and cities of the Basque County and from the campsite you can reach any point of the town of Orio by a cycle ride, as it´s a flat town.
We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Karen , on this campsite in June 2019

8.1

Travelling party: Couple

A very clean and tidy campsite. Staff were excellent, café was good and the atmosphere was lovely. Will definitely return.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your encouraging words. All the staff works hard to keep all the facilities clean, in perfect stay and to help our clients in everything they need.
Your opinion makes us to keep working harder every day to maintain these services.
We are looking forward to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Arthur Meddings, on this campsite in June 2019

7.8

Travelling party: Seniors

Nice clean site ideal location for ports and SAN Sebastian, the site has its own restaurant at the entrance that provides reasonably priced meals and drinks. The toilets are clean and tidy and the showers always have plenty of hot water. it’s a short walk in to the town were there are a number of restaurants and you can catch the bus in to SAN Sebastian.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for choosing our campsite to spend your holidays and for your sincere opinion about it. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed most of the facilities and tourism options that offers our campsite. The campsite is 2 minutes far from the beach and a 20 minute walk from the town, where you can enjoy our gastronomy, our cultural offer and also where you can take a bus or a train to visit the nearby cities like San Sebastian.
We are looking forward to see you back in our campsite.
Kind regards,

William Adshead, on this campsite in May 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

Overall, this a very good site with a mixture of touring pitches and bungalows. The location close to a beach and nearby small town (1km) makes it a very convenient stopover for a few days or more. Easy access by rail into San Sebastián - train every 30mins, about €2,60 single and takes about 25 minutes.
The site is level and very well maintained. The showers/toilets are plentiful and excellent. Wifi is free and generally ok, but not 100% reliable. Staff are friendly and speak good english.
There are several cafes/restaurants nearby and the bar next door includes a small shop and bread each morning - also serves nice tapas (pintzos). The beach area has a nice family vibe at the weekend with plenty of locals enjoying the sea front area. The motorway bridge mentioned in several other reviews really isn’t a problem and should not discourage you - you’ll hardly notice it.
Barking dogs are frequently a nuisance on campsites, but animals aren’t allowed on this campsite. That would be perfect, except that there are 2 dogs in a nearby property that, when left outside, can bark incessantly for hours - really annoying! Can’t blame the campsite for anti-social neighbours though.
The site uses some substantial pitch marking posts plus a few stone markers for good measure. Care is needed when manoeuvring as they’re location is not so obvious as trees and access roads are narrow. The trees were severely pruned/pollarded when we visited in early May, but even so, I wouldn’t expect much shade later in the season. Swimming pool not open in early season, but looked good.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
First of all, thank you for choosing Orio Kanpina for spending some days and thank you too for your positive valuation. We appreciate you made a detailed valuation about each one of the services offered by the campsite, as well as the surrounding offer.
We work to provide you the best services both in our facilities and our personalized attention so good to know that our work is good valuated.
Even not allowing animals is an inconvenient for some people, we know that many of our clients come to us especially for this reason, as we don´t allow dogs, we can assure their rest.
With such a good resume, we only have to thank you again for your sincere opinion and we are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Brown, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

As usual a fantastic campsite, staff extremely helpful. Near beach, near town, 5th or 6th visit for us & will keep returning, clean toilet facilities, all in all great facilities. Love this campsite.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for visiting our campsite one and again, there´s no better signal for us than a client that repeats the experience. We feel very thankful and very lucky to have faithful clients as you are.
For sure, we are looking forward to get your visit again.
Kind regards.

Patricia McFarlane, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Love this campsite so much we stayed at the beginning and the last few days of our holiday. Staff were really helpful and facilities were really good. Caught the train into San Sebastián which was really easy. Lovely walk over to Zarautz.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you very much for your sincere opinion. It´s really pleasant to know that not once, but you visited us in two times! That makes us feel very thankful.
We always try to do our best to offer you the best services and facilities and we´ll keep on doing it.
We hope to see you again in our campsite.
Kind regards,

Jonathan Western, on this campsite in October 2018

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed on this campsite for 2 nights before getting ferry home after a month in both Spain and Portugal these were the best showers yet -superb. Good situation with local transport to nearby towns. Short walk into town switch off sat nav as enter town as sends you through medieval streets use campsite signs instead.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
Thank you for your sincere opinion. We want to thank you as well for choosing Orio Kanpina for your stay as the end of your trip.
We are glad to hear that after a long trip, our showers were the best you tried. That encourages us to keep working hard to offer you the best services.
We are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Heather Sheane, on this campsite in October 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed for two nights at Camping Orio and were very impressed by the campsite, its facilities and the efficient way it is managed. The staff were pleasant and helpful on arrival. The sanitation facilities were spotless. I had the best shower of our entire trip. Hot, hot water and wonderful shower pressure.

We went into San Sebastián in the car and explored the city and then did the cliff walk to Donei Passai. It was wonderful but arduous, especially as the rain started near the end of our walk. The camp site is a great base to explore San Sebastián. It is about 20minutes by car or else you can take the train which leaves once an hour.

We also enjoyed the beach which is close by the campsite. The little town of Orio is walking distance and well worth while exploring. This is a great campsite managed to a very high standard.

Reaction from the campsite 7 May 2020

Dear client,
First of all, thank you for choosing Orio Kanpina to spend some days in this coastal Basque Country area. And thank you too for these encouraging words.
It is great to know that you enjoyed all the different possibilities that the campsite, the town of Orio and the nearby places offer.
Otherwise, we have no words to describe what we feel when we hear that our showers and toilets are the best you have tried. This really helps us to keep working as hard as we did to improve our services each season. For sure, we will try to maintain the high standard you talked about.
We are looking forward to see you back again.
Kind regards,

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
25-05-2020 till 09-11-2020
Area
3.2 ha
Altitude
6m
Number of touring pitches
105 (60 - 80m2)
Number of permanent pitches
34
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Advance booking not possible
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dogs not allowed in low season
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Breakfast available
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Snack bar
  • Groceries: extensive selection
  • Takeaway meals
  • Pizzeria
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
  • Restaurant (with ample choice)
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:250 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:9 m2
    • period:01-06/13-09
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Grass beach
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:5 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:2 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,2 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
  • Disabled sanitary facilities only open for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 73% 125 4
Feb 76% 75 4
Mar 77% 96 5
Apr 75% 160 6
May 80% 122 6
Jun 82% 166 7
Jul 86% 168 6
Aug 85% 119 6
Sep 79% 114 6
Oct 76% 182 5
Nov 77% 233 3
Dec 73% 114 3

Weather forecast

Thu

01 / 10

 

Fri

02 / 10

 

Sat

03 / 10

 

Sun

04 / 10

 

Mon

05 / 10

 

Tue

06 / 10

 

Wed

07 / 10

 
Max. 17.6° 16.4° 14.2° 15.2° 15.5° 17.9° 18.4°
Min. 13.5° 11.7° 9.6° 9.7° 10.3° 12° 13.2°
Precipitation 85% 90% 90% 85% 85% 80% 65%
Wind direction S W W SW W SW SW
Wind speed 4 6 6 5 4 4 4
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina
    Hondartza Bidea s/n
    20810 / Orio
    Spain
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    43°17'11"N 2°7'33"W
  • A8 from San Sebastián exit Orio, then direction beach/campsite. A8 from Bilbao: exit Zarautz, then direction Orio. Follow N634 beyond river bridge, left at 1st roundabout then direction beach/campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Camping Orio/Orio Kanpina Cat.1

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time