Go to main content

La Gallouette ****

8.5
Average score View 45 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

La Gallouette is a campsite with 110 touring pitches and 37 year round pitches. During low season, between 29-08-2020 - 30-09-2020, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 110 touring pitches at La Gallouette in Saint-Vaast-la-Hougue (Manche). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

Quiet site with spacious pitches. Heated outdoor pool, boulodrome, playground and wifi. 5 min. walk from the sea, harbour and shops. Trips to Vauban castle on Tatihou island and Barfleur. Plenty of walking and cycling routes. Ideal stop-over site: 30 min. from Cherbourg (ferry).

Extra discount: 7=6 / 14=12
CampingCard ACSI discount 29-08-2020 ⭤ 30/09/2020
  • 20
  • 1387
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (45)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.5

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.4
Staff
8.8
Price - quality comparison
8.4
Child friendliness
8.2
Entertainment
7.8
Sports facilities
8.0
Swimming pool
8.5
Food and drink
8.1
Surroundings
8.9

colmart, on this campsite in May 2016

9.0

Travelling party: Family with children, various ages

camping ou l on vient depuis plus de 20 ans , region magnifique camping tres bien tenu et tres agreable a l'oeil , les nouveaux proprietaires sont tres sympathiques , un endroit a recommander

Depenweiller, on this campsite in June 2019

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Camping très convivial . Accueil très correct. Propriétaires super sympathiques

Roisin Keown, on this campsite in May 2019

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

This is one of our favourite campsites in France. We mainly use it on our way home to Ireland, and always stay a few days, as the facilities and location are excellent.
On this occasion we stopped on our first night, due to late arrival of our ferry.
it was on arrival and checking in, that we discovered we had brought last year\'s
asci card.
This is were I have to give the lady and her team a big big thank you for there help and patience in helping us get a replacement card.
They spent valuable time phoning around stores for stock of the asci books and cards. Eventually we contacted asci, who kindly emailed a replacement. Her son, again, kindly helped me, in printing off the details.
I would highly reccommend this campsite.
5 stars from us. We will be returning, with out doubt on our return journey.
THANK YOU!!

Mark Newman, on this campsite in July 2018

8.3

Travelling party: Couple

Having just returned from here after a 2 week stay i can highly recommend this site, the facilities are spotless, the toilet blocks are the cleanest i have ever seen.Situated in st vaast this site offers grass pitches with electric hook up, 2 toilet and showere blocks, a wonderful swimming pool and a basketball court with bouncy castles for the kids. A short walk into st vaast will lead you to a quaint fishing village with a host of shops, the quay is lined with fishing boats which sell fish direct from the boat on the quay. A carrefour supermarket and netto are at the beginning of the village with reasonably priced fuel pumps. This is a great place to stay for a short break, a long break or stopover on the way to cherbourg, the pitches are pretty spacious but the site is rammed with campervans, only saw a couple of tents, a couple of caravans and we had the only trailer tent, on the whole a quiet well laid out site with spotless facilities. The staff are a credit to the site owners.

Jochen Philipp, on this campsite in May 2019

7.6

Travelling party: Couple

Wir waren schon das 2. Mal da und der CAMPINGPLATZ gefällt uns sehr gut. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und kann schon ganz gut Deutsch.
Das Schwimmbad ist wunderbar sauber und gepflegt.
Leider was das Imbiss nur am We geöffnet. Wir waren sehr zufrieden und kommen bestimmt wieder

De Voogt Tineke, on this campsite in July 2018

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

Wij gaan al meer dan 3 jaar langs en zijn altijd super tevreden van ons verblijf met de tent. We zouden geen vakantie hebben zonder hier te verblijven in deze mooie natuur en rustige camping.

More2lifetour, on this campsite in September 2018

8.2

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed late Sep 2018 for 3 nights. Very presentable site, good size pitch, helpful staff, clean shower blocks with hot water (!), nice location for town and coastal walk, new carefour supermarket with nice coffee bar 1km away. One of ACSI’s better sites.

Lesley Moyes, on this campsite in September 2016

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

A very good site. When we arrived we were met by a very friendly, pleasant lady at reception. She spoke very good English and was able to tell us about the local attractions with enthusiasm. She mentioned a shop we should visit and it was amazing. It is called Maison Gosselin and is a shop/grocery with a fantastic range of products and foods. Nice quiet site and you can easily walk into town. Boat trips etc. We will definitely return

Jeff Williams, on this campsite in September 2018

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

Convenient site for overnight stay before the ferry from Cherbourg.
Flat site, good sized pitches, we had a large caravan and car with room for table and chairs.
Good location for local shops, walks etc
Our only negative comment is that the roads are quite narrow and make manoeuvring round corners difficult. We suggest you walk to your pitch first and find the best route.
We did not use the bar/ swimming area but it looked alright

Elaine Morgan, on this campsite in April 2018

8.8

Travelling party: Couple

A really lovely campsite with very kind and friendly owners who are only two years in to owning the site. They are doing a great job of it.
Very good, spotless facilities plus two Citron 2CV’s to rent by the day or half day. Town and marina a ten minute walk with excellent restaurants and tourist shops. Supermarket a two minute drive away. We planned a two night stop but stayed for five.

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
02-06-2020 till 31-10-2020
Area
3.5 ha
Altitude
1m
Number of touring pitches
110 (85 - 105m2)
Number of camper pitches
17
Number of permanent pitches
37
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* We have verified the opening period at the campsite.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:110 m2
    • period:15-05/15-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Internet access
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
At the reception
  • Reservation with CampingCard ACSI also possible
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
    • length:10
    • weight:8000 kg
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Waste water drainage at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Groceries: limited selection
  • Snack bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Takeaway meals
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Cars
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:110 m2
    • period:15-05/15-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:10 m2
    • period:15-05/15-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Sea swimming (max. 0.5 km)
Beach
  • Sandy beach
  • Rocky coastline
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Fishing
  • Multi-sports field
Recreation (adults)
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Pitches with plenty of shade
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,3 km
  • Situated on the coast (max. 0.5 km)
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:0,3 km
  • Panorama
Disabled
  • Toilet-shower combination (215cmsx215cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Special parking spaces for disabled people
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Special parking spaces for disabled people
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special pitches for motorhomes
    • Surface area:35 m2
    • Amount:17
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Precipitation total (mm)
Jan 89
Feb 79
Mar 79
Apr 56
May 66
Jun 48
Jul 43
Aug 46
Sep 79
Oct 99
Nov 109
Dec 104

Weather forecast

Sat

19 / 09

 

Sun

20 / 09

 

Mon

21 / 09

 

Tue

22 / 09

 

Wed

23 / 09

 

Thu

24 / 09

 

Fri

25 / 09

 
Max. 20.9° 21° 21.2° 20.4° 16.6° 14.5° 14.4°
Min. 16.8° 16.9° 15.4° 13.6° 13.9° 10.5° 9.1°
Precipitation 60% 35% 10% 25% 80% 80% 70%
Wind direction E NO NO SW W W NW
Wind speed 5 5 4 4 4 5 5
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • La Gallouette
    10b rue de la Gallouette
    50550 / St. Vaast-la-Hougue
    France
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    49°35'4"N 1°16'8"W
  • N13 Caen-Cherbourg, at Valognes D902 dir. Quettehou and then to St. Vaast-la-Hougue. Right at traffic light on approach road, right after 300 metres - Rue de la Galouette.

  • Warning! Since July 13 2015, many French campsites are prohibited from installing their own signpost. We advise to use GPS-coordinates to locate the campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book La Gallouette or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "La Gallouette".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


La Gallouette ****

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time