Go to main content

Campsite Fossa Lupara **

Campsite photos
Campsite Fossa Lupara Campsite Fossa Lupara
General information

At Campsite Fossa Lupara in Sestri Levante (Genoa) camping costs as little as €18,- per night during low season with CampingCard ACSI. At one of the 30 touring pitches you will get a discounted rate during the period 01-02-2019 - 18-04-2019, 29-04-2019 - 30-05-2019, 03-06-2019 - 15-07-2019 and 01-09-2019 - 31-10-2019. At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

This basic campsite is located right by the A12. Not far from the lively centre and beach resort. Good train connections to Genoa and the Cinque Terre, all of which are worth a visit. Free transport to train station in July; in low season for a fee.

  • 18
  • 3128

Acceptance period

October 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
November 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
December 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Detail information about this campsite
Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 7.8

Add a review
Toilet facilities
7.7
Staff
8.6
Price - quality comparison
8.2
Child friendliness
7.2
Entertainment
6.7
Sports facilities
6.2
Swimming pool
5.0
Food and drink
8.2
Surroundings
8.2

Joy, on this campsite in October 2015

4.8

Travelling party: Seniors

I was so disappointed by this site having read previous reviews and had rejected others to come here. It is basic! The owners were only around for a short period each day so no chance to find out if they were friendly. In fact had to make sure we caught them to pay and retrieve our ACSI card. The pitch was adequate but no views - other than of the toilet block. Facilities were clean but nowhere to put things in the showers without getting wet. Contrary to other reviews you could hear the motorway although not obtrusive. Good point was the price - no extra for tourist tax.

Susan Rose, on this campsite in April 2018

6.1

Travelling party: Couple

Friendly welcome but this is a small site and as bank holiday loomed more and more motorhomes arrived and one person changed his pitch to come behind me making my eventual exit tricky! Toilets basic but always hot water. For early season motorhomers be aware that the bar and resto seem to operate at popular times only. Local supermarket 1/2 mile and good. Cycle into town but map needed. Sestri busy over bank holiday. Felt slightly ushered off site as BH to accommodate pre bookings. Cash only.

Raymond Bew, on this campsite in July 2016

6.6

Travelling party: Couple

The toilet facilities are very old, and badly in need of modernisation, though were clean.
The staff are friendly, and tolerant of english speakers.
The price of 30 euros in the high season, for two adults + caravan, reflects the quality of the site.
The pitches are very tightly packed, and the photo in the ACSI guide is not representative of the campsite In general.
There was a promised, free, "shuttle-bus" to the train station, but this was not running, claimed to be starting on "Saturday" - halfway through the high season? I think not! I got the feel that this was a "free beer tomorrow" type of offer.
We had planned several train excursions, but as the shuttle bus was not available, and had no intention of leaving our car in the station car park, sadly we left after only one night and felt very let down.
Finally, being next to a motorway, some noise is to be expected but this was not intrusive.

Adrian Talbot, on this campsite in June 2019

7.4

Travelling party: Couple

We were on a \"hard standing\" near the front - it was very good and we even had our own sink and tap on the pitch. Lets get this over with, traffic noise is not a problem - if you listen hard you can hear traffic at certain times of the day but it is not intrusive. The owners & family are very friendly.
Ideally located to visit loads of nice places and there is a good supermarket 10 minutes slow walk away (just turn right out of site, then left under the motorway bridge and follow the narrow road to the left - you\'ll soon see the supermarket!)
Toilet facilities were excellent - plenty of room and plenty of very hot unmetered water - even toilet paper was supplied!
Touring from the Amalfi coast going up the west coast of Italy, this is one of the better sites and, in my opinion, worth a visit.

William Adshead, on this campsite in May 2018

7.5

Travelling party: Seniors

Not the prettiest site or location you’ll stay at, but it’s a good location for visiting Genoa, Portofino and the Cinq Terre. As others have mentioned, it is located alongside the A12 motorway. However, it’s very well screened and really not a problem. Some muted traffic noise is audible from the hard standing pitches at the front of the site, but you can’t hear any road noise from the grass pitches at the back of the site. The site mostly comprises statics which are busy at weekends with italian families allowing for the pizza restaurant to be opened. There are two other restaurants within easy walking distance. The train station at Sestri Levante provides the means to visit the local attractions. It’s a level 30 minute walk and trains are frequent and reliable. Sestri Levante is a nice town with beach and promenades.
The owner speaks good English and is very informative and helpful. As others have mentioned the sanitary/washing facilities are old and tired, but they are clean. Wifi is available free across the site, but it is quite slow.
A previous reviewer refers to a supermarket within walking distance, but that had closed down when we visited.
Portofino is worth a visit, but the prices are crazy. Cinq Terre is extremely busy with tour groups which becomes quite annoying after a while as they tend to crowd the trains, streets, shops and restaurants. My favourite village was Corniglia which is quieter, I think because some effort is required to get there - long, steep uphill path from the station. I would not recommend Monterosso which isn’t as attractive or interesting as the other villages.
A good value site at ACSI rates in a convenient location, perfectly OK for a few days stopover.

Anna Munn, on this campsite in May 2015

8.2

Travelling party: Couple

This site should be described as rustic but charming. It was the busiest site we have been to out of season and this is because it's 2km walk to the train station and from there you can get to Santa margherita to go to portofino or the other way the cinque terre. It is an odd route to get to it and you wonder where you are going and consider turning round as you pass under the dark motorway underpass but keep going and the site is lovely. Good clean sanitary facilities, showers with no timers.. Our first in 37 days of travelling! Would recommend to visit this coast line by train. Owner very helpful.

Anton Thomas Thomas King, on this campsite in April 2016

8.4

Travelling party: Couple

Pleasant site. Yes the pitches are a bit scruffy but the toilets are good (loo paper!) and the showers are unmetered and hot!
Bar restaurant is very attractive and the surrounding area is nicely lit.
What more do you want?
On the edge of town too, a fair walk down to the front but we cycled.
Don't miss the Bay de Silencio with its fisherman statue.

Sandra, on this campsite in October 2015

8.4

Travelling party: Couple

Wonderful stay, loved it all. Danilo, the Camping Manager is gorgeous, such a friendly host. The site is beautiful, and we fell in love with the area. Will come back next year for sure. Loved it all. Thank you Danilo, and we loved your pizzas too!

Sarah Johns, on this campsite in April 2019

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed at this site for 2 nights and it was very good. We have a 7.5 meter caravan and access is good and straightforward. There are some bigger pitches near the site entrance but overall the site is small so if you planning to stay in season I would recommend booking. Facilities are older but clean and adequate. (There are toilets with seats and toilet paper). The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly, helpful and spoke good English. We used the restaurant both nights as it was so reasonably priced and the food was good. This site is next to the motorway but as it is lower down there is minimal impact from noise. It is a 20 min walk into Sestri Levante which is a nice and pleasant seaside town. It has a good railway station which you can utilise to visit Portofino, Cinque Terre, etc. This is also a walking area and there are maps/info available on the site. We will return to this area and this site and can highly recommend both.

Tom Yang, on this campsite in April 2015

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

We are two Chinese Canadians just finished 40 days tent camping trip around Europe. What a trip and now we looked back at all the campgrounds we stayed... wow... none of them are the same! Very few campgrounds we stayed for more than one night; Berlin, Paris, Rome, Venice, Praha, for obvious reason. But, this Fossa Lupara we stayed for two nights :) The place isn't big but it's so friendly, well laid out and relaxing. WiFi is free, water hot and in huge volume. Pitches are shaded, flat and in fine gravels. We arrived late at 10pm and Danilo showed up before I hang up the phone literally. The young man speaks fluent English and learnt the Chinese greetings in 20 seconds. He even helped me pay for a Italian parking ticket :)

Come to see Danilo !!!

General information

Period of opening
01-02-2019 till 31-10-2019
Area
1.5 ha
Number of touring pitches
30 (30 - 50m2)
Number of camper pitches
20
Number of permanent pitches
70
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:3G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Passport/identity card required
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
    • length:12
    • weight:5000 kg
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Passport/identity card required
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:1
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Squatting-toilets
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Water connection at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
Food, drink and groceries
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Groceries: limited selection
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Snack bar
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Takeaway meals
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Pizzeria
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
    • period:01-06/26-09
  • Bar
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Tennis court(s)
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Sand
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Pitches with plenty of shade
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Public transport near the camp site (max. 0.5 km)
    • distance:0 km
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,3 km
  • Distance to the sea (max. 10 km)
    • distance:1,5 km
Disabled
  • Toilet-shower combination (215cmsx215cms minimum)
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Shop/supermarket with level entrance or with ramp
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special pitches for motorhomes
    • Surface area:40 m2
    • Amount:20
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Pitches with radio and television connections
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:6 ampère
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds
Address & Route

Would you like to book Campsite Fossa Lupara or request more information? You can do both using the information below.

  • Campsite Fossa Lupara
    Via Villa Costa 31
    16039 / Sestri Levante
    Italy

  • Download GPS coordinates
    Select your navigation system:

     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:

    44°16'25"N 9°25'21"E
  • A12 Genova-Livorno, take Sestri Levante exit. The campsite is well signposted from there (about 500m) close to the motorway. Warning: do not use SatNav but follow signs because of low tunnel (avoids damage).

  • Contact

Please contact us

Show on map
Load
The weather on this campsite

Weather forecast

Wed

11 / 12

 

Thu

12 / 12

 

Fri

13 / 12

 

Sat

14 / 12

 

Sun

15 / 12

 

Mon

16 / 12

 

Tue

17 / 12

 
Max. 7.2° 5.4° 4.6° 8.8° 9.7° 9.6° 10.5°
Min. 0.3° 0.5° -0.5° -0.8° 5.9° 7.3°
Precipitation 5% 80% 85% 15% 50% 80% 75%
Wind direction S N SW SW SW SW W
Wind speed 2 3 3 4 3 3 3

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm)
Jan 71% 123
Feb 69% 33
Mar 74% 108
Apr 76% 111
May 79% 61
Jun 79% 215
Jul 78% 27
Aug 81% 80
Sep 77% 139
Oct 80% 136
Nov 70% 170
Dec 69% 89
Weeronline
Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite Fossa Lupara".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.