Go to main content

Campsite Winkl-Landthal ****

Campsite photos
Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal Campsite Winkl-Landthal
General information

Campsite Winkl-Landthal is a campsite with 50 touring pitches and 24 year round pitches. During low season, between 01-04-2019 - 15-07-2019 and 01-09-2019 - 11-10-2019, the nightly rate is €20,- at one of the 50 touring pitches at Campsite Winkl-Landthal in Bischofswiesen (Bavaria). At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A peaceful campsite, excellent walking opportunities from the site. A good starting point for day trips to Salzburg, Berchtesgaden or Großglockner among other places. Bus stop 100 metres from the campsite. It is recommended to reserve via the contact form on campsite website.

www.camping-winkl.de

  • 20
  • 895

Acceptance period

August 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
September 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
October 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   
November 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
December 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Detail information about this campsite
Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 7.3

Add a review
Toilet facilities
8.0
Staff
7.0
Price - quality comparison
6.9
Child friendliness
6.7
Entertainment
7.3
Sports facilities
5.9
Swimming pool
6.8
Food and drink
6.7
Surroundings
8.6

Simon, on this campsite in July 2019

5.7

Travelling party: Family with children <4 years

Obnoxious management threatened to call police when challenged over huge overcharging

First the site. Good location, 15 mins drive from Berchtesgaden. Small, tired site. Signs of flooding / standing water with lots of random patches of gravel. ACSI pitches are small, barely width for caravan and awning. Showers hot and plentiful. Electric and hot water for sinks on a meter and expensive rate (see below). Small playground for children.
Now the problem:

We’ve just stayed 7 nights. I booked by email months ago, and confirmed total prices for the nights. We had 2 nights acsi before their end of season, then 5 nights regular price. I included that we had 2 children aged 2 and 5 months.

When I went to pay today the total sounded very high. I asked for an itemised bill and was told that would come on the receipt and she insisted I paid first. I asked her to explain what she had charged for and she got very defensive, banging her fist on the counter and demanding I pay.

I showed her the email chain and said I would calculate it myself. At this point her daughter joined us and tried to calculate it by hand, getting to a totally different price.

She’d charged me for 8 nights, despite us booking and paying for 7. She insisted that’s what we booked even after I showed her the email, as that’s what’s she’d written on her scrap of paper.

She’d charged us for all the electricity we’d used, despite 4kw per night being included in the acsi day price. (As an aside, we still paid 3e a night on the meter just for fridge connection, to charge a mobile phone, 1hr of laptop a night and boiling 3 kettles a day. No heaters, no fans, no high consumption electronics).

She also charged us 4e a night for our 2 year old, despite their kids price starting at 3. Her date of birth is 2016 on the tourist registration form, so apparently this makes her 3. I offered to show her passport. She made out it was a tourist board thing and tax. When I challenged why a child’s tax was more than adults (2.5e) she admitted it wasn’t tax but their own price. But still wouldn’t budge despite me again proving that I’d stated her age in the email (they hadn’t asked for a DOB, or explained it was their policy to round up ages).

She hadn’t deducted our 25e deposit.

The owner and her daughter couldn’t even agree on a total between them, but by my calculations she was 90e over so not insignificant to quibble over.

I said I’d go away and calculate it myself based on her email prices and come back. She threatened to phone the police.

Luckily I’d paid the deposit by PayPal, I didn’t trust them just handing over cash, and obviously couldn’t pay on card as she wouldn’t accept my price, so paid the balance to their PayPal so I have proof.

I detailed my breakdown in a reply to the booking email and included a screenshot of my PayPal payment to them.

I went back in to reception and mentioned the email and payment, but she was apparently on the phone to the police.

We left the campsite and are half way through Austria and haven’t been pulled over yet!

Looking at reviews from other people, it appears she has form on overcharging, threats and obnoxious behaviour.

As an aside, as well as charging 80c per kw electric, they also have a coin meter for the sinks to wash up or do hand washing, and officious German signs in the toilets warning you not to attempt to do your washing or take water from the showers!

Nick Bell, on this campsite in May 2017

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

A wonderful campsite; helpful, friendly staff and clean facilities in a great location. The free Tourist Card a real bonus; it saved us a fortune in bus fares and admission fees. Would happily return again.

Mr P Colbran, on this campsite in June 2015

6.2

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed at this campsite for three nights due to its perfect position for visiting the surrounding area. Our stay was spoilt, however by the lady in Reception who was unfriendly and made you feel like you were bothering her. There were threatening, excessive signs everywhere which made you feel uncomfortable. It's a pity as there is so much to see in this area but we would not recommend this site to anyone.

Stephen Griffiths, on this campsite in June 2019

7.7

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed here in mid June. A nice quiet campsite close to public transport. The toilet facilities were immaculate. Overall we would stay again however we felt it was a little expensive and there were additional costs related to the use of electricity.

Clair Spooner, on this campsite in September 2019

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely campsite. We had a pitch right next to the river. Good toilet facilities. You have to pay for the hot water to do any washing up. The site has a small shop and sells drinks. They have a bakery delivery every morning. The site is located near some fantastic walks up the nearby mountains. Unfortunately there isn’t a lot around the site in terms of shops or restaurants, but the site will give you a free bus card if your stay is longer than one night. This can be used to visit Königssee and Berchtesgaden.

Lesley Spencer (Richard Capps is the member and he travelled with me), on this campsite in May 2015

5.4

Travelling party: Couple

The staff were very unhelpful and the lady on reception was miserable, rude and aggressive and was in the middle of a heated argument with another customer when we went to reception. We were charged the maximum tax and a pathetic amount for hot water to wash dishes. There was no-one in the bar in the evening which wasn't surprising. All the signs were in german, no other language. We had planned to return to visit Eagle's Nest but given the way we were treated we would never go back. This was a truly unpleasant experience unlike the other ACSI sites we visited in May/June 2015 which I will be reviewing in due course.

Keith Jacques, on this campsite in June 2017

6.0

Travelling party: Couple

Possibly the worst value for money site we have stayed on during our 8 week trip (so far) around Europe. The site owners wife does not speak English and gets very aggressive and irate if you don't understand her, their daughter speaks English so is easier to get on with.
Many things are extra on this site, hot water has to be paid for to wash up! The internet is for 7 days - if you stay 2 you still have to pay for 7, also with the internet you pay for one person on one machine you cannot log out and use the ticket on another device!
When you check in you are given a discount card which can be used for free travel on local buses - when you check out you get charged per day per person for this card. This is not explained at check in or in the ACSI info. You get charged for extra electricity - but I never saw our meter. I asked to pay the night before we left as we were going before the reception opens in the morning. The 'Mum' of the site said I was going to use another 6 kw before I left and charged me extra for the assumed extra. I was livid at this but all of a sudden the lady did not speak good English again.
The ACSI info states waste water drain within 15 meters of the pitch - the Motorhome emptying place is close to the front entrance - could be 100 meters from your pitch and no other place I could find to empty waste water.
Pitches are very cramped the ACSI pitch we were offered on arrival was so close to other vans I paid extra per night for a comfort pitch I. E. Normal size pitch - some touring vans are parked within 1 meter of fixed resident vans.
Reception does not open till 8.30.
The ACSI info states river swimming nearby - if you can swim in 15cm of water in the river which is full of boulders you'll be ok!
You cannot get rid of bottles on the site you have to take them to a shopping centre collection point 2 km down the road - I have never heard of this anywhere else.
If you are at the wrong end of the site you are close to a very noisy road and a local railway line - noise.
It is a pity the site has many downsides as the area is stunning - not to be missed - Eagles nest, Konnigsee Berchesgarten to name a few.
If we go back to this area it will not be to this site.

D STEAD, on this campsite in June 2015

6.0

Travelling party: Couple

We must agree with many of the other contributors. we opted to pay the extra a serviced pitch so far acceptable.
We were aware that electricity in Germany was expensive and as the weather was cold and raining opted to use our own gas for heating during our 5 night stay.
Walking and views in the area are beautiful, however when we came to leave, and asked pay for our stay, was angered to find a substantial charge for electricity. When the charge was queried the owner simply shrugged her shoulders. This was by far the most expensive site we have ever used with Acsi. We would not recommend this site and judging by the previous comments am surprised Acsi still promote this site.

Rick Corbishley, on this campsite in June 2016

7.0

Travelling party: Couple

This was not the best camp site we have stayed on, in fact apart from the toilet facilities which were very good, it was the worst. Stony ground for tent pegs is not good. I bent most of mine. It felt like it was ready to close down. Very quiet with half the pitches occupied by long term lets which were often old and mucky. The site had hardly anyone on. The 'restaurant' was closed I think, there was no sign it served food. Service was strange, like going to Royston Vasey. And I think we were overcharged even after getting a reduction for another overcharge. It cost us extra for WiFi, and electricity and you even have to pay for hot water to wash the pots. It wasn't a great experience and wouldn't return in a hurry. Good location though.

Brigid Vaughan, on this campsite in June 2015

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

We were pleased with our pitch and the camping in general.first time we've ever had to pay for hot water to wash up! Electricity usage above 4 kilowatts daily is extra and please read notice on reception door, as office doesn't open until 10am on Sunday's and we had 45 mins wait to depart!!!!!!

General information

Period of opening
01-01-2019 till 07-01-2019
01-04-2019 till 13-10-2019
18-12-2019 till 31-12-2019
Area
2.5 ha
Altitude
690m
Number of touring pitches
50 (80 - 100m2)
Number of camper pitches
3
Number of permanent pitches
24
Campsite also suitable for winter sports
Yes

* Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:3
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:3G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
    • wifi 80-100% coverage free
At the reception
  • Reservation with CampingCard ACSI also possible
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:3
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:3
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Heated toilet facilities
  • Water connection at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Waste water drainage at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Tap at/near the pitch (max. 50 m)
  • Showers: cold water
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Groceries: limited selection
  • Bar
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Cars
Swimming
  • River/stream swimming (max. 0.1 km)
Sports and play
  • Table tennis table
  • Fishing
  • Children's playground: small
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:9 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:difficult | easy | average
  • Games room
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Hard ground
  • Terraced site
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Pitches with plenty of shade
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Public transport near the camp site (max. 0.5 km)
    • distance:0,1 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Situated on river/stream (max. 0.1 km)
  • Panorama
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special pitches for motorhomes
    • hardened base for motorhomes
    • water supply and drainage
    • Surface area:60 m2
    • Amount:3
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Pitches with radio and television connections
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère
  • Defibrillator
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Reservation recommended for low season
Address & Route

Would you like to book Campsite Winkl-Landthal or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

  • Campsite Winkl-Landthal
    Klaushäuslweg 7
    83483 / Bischofswiesen
    Germany

  • Download GPS coordinates
    Select your navigation system:

     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:

    47°40'36"N 12°56'9"E
  • On the A8 München-Salzburg, take exit Bad Reichenhall. Then, the B20 towards Berchtesgaden. 11 km before Berchtesgaden (Winkl).

  • Contact

  • www.camping-winkl.de

Please contact us

Show on map
Load
The weather on this campsite

Weather forecast

Thu

17 / 10

 

Fri

18 / 10

 

Sat

19 / 10

 

Sun

20 / 10

 

Mon

21 / 10

 

Tue

22 / 10

 

Wed

23 / 10

 
Max. 19° 20.3° 20.1° 19.2° 20.1° 18.5° 19.5°
Min. 1.6° 5.4° 7.3° 7.9° 6.2°
Precipitation 0% 10% 10% 10% 20% 15% 10%
Wind direction S S ZO S S S S
Wind speed 2 2 2 2 2 2 2

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 83% 69 3
Feb 77% 63 4
Mar 77% 71 4
Apr 71% 93 5
May 68% 128 7
Jun 71% 169 6
Jul 73% 201 7
Aug 72% 171 7
Sep 79% 132 6
Oct 80% 91 4
Nov 84% 76 2
Dec 83% 72 2
Weeronline
Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite Winkl-Landthal".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.