Go to main content

Campsite La Citadelle ****

Campsite photos
Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle
General information

At Campsite La Citadelle in Beaulieu-lès-Loches (Indre and Loire) camping costs as little as €18,- per night during low season with CampingCard ACSI. At one of the 117 touring pitches you will get a discounted rate during the period 30-03-2020 - 04-07-2020 and 24-08-2020 - 30-09-2020. At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

Hospitable campsite on the edge of the historic town of Loches with its interesting castle. Both the town and the surroundings offer various leisure opportunities. Heated swimming pool, bar/snack/restaurant and good toilet facilities. Discounts in town for wearers of campsite bracelet at restaurants and shops.

www.lacitadelle.com

  • 18
  • 1977

Acceptance period

November 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930 
December 2019
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
January 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
February 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
242526272829 
March 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
April 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   
May 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
June 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Detail information about this campsite
Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.0

Add a review
Toilet facilities
7.8
Staff
8.3
Price - quality comparison
7.8
Child friendliness
8.1
Entertainment
6.2
Sports facilities
7.5
Swimming pool
8.3
Food and drink
7.2
Surroundings
8.6

Russell & Heather Hardy, on this campsite in September 2019

7.9

Travelling party: Couple

Visited at the end of September and felt that everything was closed around us, restaurant, two of the three sanitary facilities closed but pool open but Weather not conducive to using it. Felt that the sanitary facilities were in need of deep clean, not helped by dirty footprints, leaves etc from the weather.
Easy walk ( off road path from the gate) into lovely Loches, well worth visiting. The market is amazing, spreading through the narrow medieval streets.
We were offered larger comfort pitches at extra cost when we arrived but we declined and looked around at the others, which we thought were mainly of a fairly generous size and water closeby, long electricity leads may be needed if the site were busy.

David Anthony Shenton, on this campsite in September 2015

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed on site end of September, staff helpful and friendly, toilet/showers were kept adequately supplied with paper, but are a little unsure although relatively clean not sure exactly how much cleaning was being done day to day. Would however return.

Sonia’s Crew, on this campsite in September 2015

6.1

Travelling party: Couple

Most of the toilets closed, showers hot but very scruffy. Close to town and great for a couple of nights.

Chris Jordan, on this campsite in September 2018

7.9

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed here at end of August and things were shutting - bar was running out of drink and restaurant had very limited food - just what was left. However superb position near to town and easy to walk to (10 minutes). Town is lovely with many restaurants and good to walk around with good market twice a week. The main plus of this campsite is its position. A lot of English on site and many permanent locations. Pool was good but pleased that we were there out of season. However, I would think it was good for children in the high season.

Carole Truman, on this campsite in September 2017

7.6

Travelling party: Couple

It's an easy traffic-free walk into the town, which is well worth a visit. There are also meadows near the site which are great for letting the dog have a run. Lovely grassy pitches even at the end of the season. The main gripe is that the guy on reception did a really hard sell on 'grand confort' pitches which cost more. He actually said that the standard pitches did not include electricity even with a camping card. The standard pitches seemed fine, so it felt like a rip-off being coerced into an upgrade.

Ed Jessiman, on this campsite in May 2019

8.6

Travelling party: Couple

Lovely site, well maintained with green borders and large pitches. Indoor swimming pool was great for time of year. A pain however that WiFi was charged and expensive. A 10min walk into town which is easy. Would happily stay here again. No kids with us and didn’t see any around as it was early May.

Paul John Eifflaender, on this campsite in August 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

a lovely campsite. particularly good toilets and showers. a good swimming area with 2 pools. the walk into town is easy. the public gardens in town are exceptional. it is a very interesting town with a great market on Saturday.

Rebecca Bosley, on this campsite in October 2017

8.2

Travelling party: Couple

What a gem of a site, so glad we decided on a few days here when travelling back to Caen from the South. Very easy to find but access it off the main D road that skirts the town. We arrived on 3 October & it was closing on the 6th so we had just 3 nights here & consequently it was very quiet so great choice of pitches. Reception team very friendly with good English spoken. There was a small shop where bread & croissants could be ordered. This was mainly to have a large open pitch but you also got fresh water & grey water disposal points on your pitch. We had a good look round at the other pitches & there was a good choice of shady or open pitches - all were well cut & good condition grass surfaces. Only 1 wash/toilet block was still open out of the 3 but that was more than adequate for the few people staying on site. The toilets were mixed but the showers separate male & female with toilet paper provided. The pool area was lovely, the outdoor pool a little chilly but the indoor one lovely for a swim. The whole site is kept very neat & tidy right through to the end of the season. The site was very peaceful & quiet especially at night. The town of Loches is wonderful & the market on the Wednesday was fab with a real buzz about town. If you ask at reception they will give you a discount wrist band for some restaurants & the chateau. A site that we want to revisit in the summer months to get the long summer evenings! sk at reception they will give you a discount wrist band for some restaurants & the chateau. A site that we want to revisit in the summer months to get the long summer evenings!

Mr G R Thomas, on this campsite in August 2015

8.3

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed at this site for 6 nights as a base to explore the Châteaux of the Loire. We has a superior pitch with it's own water and grey waste disposal. We have a 6m motorhome.

We thought the site excellent. The pitch had high hedges on 3 sides so we had good privacy when on the site. The toilet block was good although there was no soap to wash one's hands. The showers were excellent. The site amenities such as the pool and bar were also very good. There was entertainment on several evenings but not our thing so we didn't go although from what we were seeing a lot of people did and were enjoying themselves. Lots of facilities for children and teenagers (although we have none to give an independent review!).

The site is literally a 10 minute walk from the centre of Loches which is a lovely town with some excellent bars and restaurants (which were tested by us).

From the site we visited a number of Châteaux and other attractions so the location for this was good.

We would use the site again if we return to the area.

Rebecca Bosley, on this campsite in June 2018

7.8

Travelling party: Couple

So we came back in June! See my previous review from last October - site was very quiet in early June so we got a pick of pitches which were in beautiful condition. The sanitaires are a bit dark & dated although there are a couple of newer showers. No bar or food facilities were open during our 8 night stay. Bread could be ordered at reception. The site was very peaceful & relaxing. The pool complex was very clean with a new slide addition for this season. It did say in the Acsi book that book 7 nights but pay for 6, however we were there for 8 nights & I did ask if we got one free night but got a curt \'no\' from Gilles the owner so not sure why, maybe as we were on a comfort pitch? All in all a lovely stay with plenty of time to explore beautiful Loches.

General information

Period of opening
01-04-2019 till 04-10-2019
30-03-2020 till 30-09-2020
Area
4 ha
Number of touring pitches
117 (50 - 240m2)
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:130 m2
    • period:01-05/20-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Indoor swimming pool (heated)
    • surface area:82 m2
    • period:01-05/20-09
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
Internet
  • Mobile internet
    • Type:4G
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
At the reception
  • Reservation with CampingCard ACSI also possible
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Dog walking area
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Squatting-toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Water connection at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Waste water drainage at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Groceries: limited selection
  • Snack bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Takeaway meals
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Pizzeria
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
  • Lodge tent without toilet facilities
    • total:7
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • surface area:130 m2
    • period:01-05/20-09
    • Heated:Yes
  • Indoor swimming pool (heated)
    • surface area:82 m2
    • period:01-05/20-09
  • Water slide (> 10 m)
  • Tropical leisure pool
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:20 m2
    • period:01-05/20-09
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Fishing
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Golf course (at least 6 holes)
    • total:9
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:9 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Pitches with plenty of shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Public transport near the camp site (max. 0.5 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Situated on river/stream (max. 0.1 km)
Disabled
  • A shower (150 cmsx150 cms minimum) and a toilet (165x220cms or 190cmsx190cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people in the same building as for the other campers
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Canteen/restaurant has toilet adapted for disabled people
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10 ampère | 20 ampère
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds
Address & Route

Would you like to book Campsite La Citadelle or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

  • Campsite La Citadelle
    Aristide Briand
    37600 / Loches
    France

  • Download GPS coordinates
    Select your navigation system:

     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:

    47°7'22"N 1°0'7"E
  • Via D943, D31 or D764. On roundabout it is better to follow the indicated route outside Loches. Smaller vehicles can drive via the centre.

  • Warning! Since July 13 2015, many French campsites are prohibited from installing their own signpost. We advise to use GPS-coordinates to locate the campsite.

  • Contact

  • www.lacitadelle.com

Show on map
Load
The weather on this campsite

Weather forecast

Fri

24 / 01

 

Sat

25 / 01

 

Sun

26 / 01

 

Mon

27 / 01

 

Tue

28 / 01

 

Wed

29 / 01

 

Thu

30 / 01

 
Max. 11.5° 11.7° 11.6° 12.4° 11.4° 10.7° 11.7°
Min. -0.3° 1.7° 3.8° 7.6° 7.5° 4.3°
Precipitation 5% 5% 55% 80% 70% 50% 30%
Wind direction NO ZO SW S SW SW SW
Wind speed 2 2 3 4 4 4 3

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 87% 67 2
Feb 84% 58 3
Mar 79% 49 4
Apr 77% 55 5
May 74% 64 7
Jun 71% 48 7
Jul 72% 54 7
Aug 71% 63 8
Sep 77% 59 6
Oct 84% 66 3
Nov 88% 66 3
Dec 88% 75 2
Weeronline
Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite La Citadelle".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.