Go to main content

Campsite La Citadelle ****

Campsite photos
Campsite La Citadelle Campsite La Citadelle
General information

At Campsite La Citadelle in Beaulieu-lès-Loches (Indre and Loire) camping costs as little as €17,- per night during low season with CampingCard ACSI. At one of the 115 touring pitches you will get a discounted rate during the period 03-04-2017 - 07-07-2017 and 25-08-2017 - 08-10-2017. At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

A hospitable campsite on the edge of the historic town of Loches with its interesting castle. Both the town and the surroundings offer various leisure opportunities. On the site itself a heated swimming pool, bar/snack/restaurant and good toilet facilities. The site has a mobile home adapted for the disabled. Low season opening times: 08:00-12:15 and 14:00-19:30. Discount offered at restaurant and wellness centre in town.

www.lacitadelle.com

  • 1936

Acceptance period

October 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     
November 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930   
December 2017
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Detail information about this campsite
Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 8.1

Add a review
Toilet facilities
7.9
Staff
8.3
Price - quality comparison
7.8
Child friendliness
8.2
Entertainment
7.0
Sports facilities
7.8
Swimming pool
8.2
Food and drink
7.7
Surroundings
8.6

Rebecca Bosley, on this campsite in October 2017

8.2

Travelling party: Couple

What a gem of a site, so glad we decided on a few days here when travelling back to Caen from the South. Very easy to find but access it off the main D road that skirts the town. We arrived on 3 October & it was closing on the 6th so we had just 3 nights here & consequently it was very quiet so great choice of pitches. Reception team very friendly with good English spoken. There was a small shop where bread & croissants could be ordered. This was mainly to have a large open pitch but you also got fresh water & grey water disposal points on your pitch. We had a good look round at the other pitches & there was a good choice of shady or open pitches - all were well cut & good condition grass surfaces. Only 1 wash/toilet block was still open out of the 3 but that was more than adequate for the few people staying on site. The toilets were mixed but the showers separate male & female with toilet paper provided. The pool area was lovely, the outdoor pool a little chilly but the indoor one lovely for a swim. The whole site is kept very neat & tidy right through to the end of the season. The site was very peaceful & quiet especially at night. The town of Loches is wonderful & the market on the Wednesday was fab with a real buzz about town. If you ask at reception they will give you a discount wrist band for some restaurants & the chateau. A site that we want to revisit in the summer months to get the long summer evenings! sk at reception they will give you a discount wrist band for some restaurants & the chateau. A site that we want to revisit in the summer months to get the long summer evenings!

Carole Truman, on this campsite in September 2017

7.7

Travelling party: Couple

It\'s an easy traffic-free walk into the town, which is well worth a visit. There are also meadows near the site which are great for letting the dog have a run. Lovely grassy pitches even at the end of the season. The main gripe is that the guy on reception did a really hard sell on \'grand confort\' pitches which cost more. He actually said that the standard pitches did not include electricity even with a camping card. The standard pitches seemed fine, so it felt like a rip-off being coerced into an upgrade.

Linda Jordan, on this campsite in August 2017

8.2

Travelling party: Seniors

We stayed on this site at the end of August & 1st week of September 2017 in our motorhome. Out son & family were in a tent. The sanitary facilities which we used near the pool area were cleaned everyday but could have done with a more thorough deep clean. The pool was lovely, used it most days, but a bit deep for young children. The toddler slide was rough & my granddaughter scraped herself quite badly coming down it. I reported this to reception but nothing was done to repair it. The grandchildren enjoyed the bouncy castles near our pitch, but unfortunately one of them broke her elbow falling off the climbing frame!! Easy walk/cycle ride into Loches which had a lovely street market on Saturday. Area for dog walking on site or along the river into Loches. Supermarkets 5 min bike ride. If you\'ve got transport it\'s within reach of many chateau. Would use this site again.

Paul John Eifflaender, on this campsite in August 2017

9.0

Travelling party: Couple

a lovely campsite. particularly good toilets and showers. a good swimming area with 2 pools. the walk into town is easy. the public gardens in town are exceptional. it is a very interesting town with a great market on Saturday.

Michael Kirkpatrick, on this campsite in April 2017

8.0

Travelling party: Couple

A very pleasant campsite 10 minutes walk from a fascinating walled town with good restaurants, shops and a Saturday market.

Lorraine Mortlock, on this campsite in April 2017

8.5

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed on the campsite over the Easter weekend 2017 in our campervan. The reception staff spoke good English and were very helpful. The standard pitches were all very big and water points weren\'t too far away. The shower and toilet block was clean and had plenty of hot water. It was a gorgeous walk along by the river into Loches itself. A town not to be missed. We
cycled each day from the campsite along the \'Velo\' route, along quiet roads. We would certainly recommend this site and will definitely return. The restaurant wasn\'t open but bread could be ordered at the reception for breakfast.

Robert Pratt, on this campsite in October 2016

8.5

Travelling party: Seniors

Superb site in great location just a stroll from the magnificent historic centre of Loches with its medieval Chateau and beautiful gardens. Lovely flat grassy pitches, very friendly owners, river runs close by and worthy of a longer stay than just our overnight stop. Highly recommended

David Shenton, on this campsite in September 2015

8.4

Travelling party: Couple

Stayed on site end of September, staff helpful and friendly, toilet/showers were kept adequately supplied with paper, but are a little unsure although relatively clean not sure exactly how much cleaning was being done day to day. Would however return.

Nicholas Hampton, on this campsite in September 2015

6.0

Travelling party: Couple

Most of the toilets closed, showers hot but very scruffy. Close to town and great for a couple of nights.

Mr G R Thomas, on this campsite in August 2015

8.4

Travelling party: Couple

We stayed at this site for 6 nights as a base to explore the Châteaux of the Loire. We has a superior pitch with it\'s own water and grey waste disposal. We have a 6m motorhome.

We thought the site excellent. The pitch had high hedges on 3 sides so we had good privacy when on the site. The toilet block was good although there was no soap to wash one\'s hands. The showers were excellent. The site amenities such as the pool and bar were also very good. There was entertainment on several evenings but not our thing so we didn\'t go although from what we were seeing a lot of people did and were enjoying themselves. Lots of facilities for children and teenagers (although we have none to give an independent review!).

The site is literally a 10 minute walk from the centre of Loches which is a lovely town with some excellent bars and restaurants (which were tested by us).

From the site we visited a number of Châteaux and other attractions so the location for this was good.

We would use the site again if we return to the area.

General information

Period of opening
03-04-2017 till 08-10-2017
Area
4 ha
Number of touring pitches
115 (50 - 180m2)
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* Facilities printed in bold are not included in the overnight rate. Supplementary charges will apply. (This does not mean that facilities which are not printed in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • heated
    • surface area:130 m2
    • period:10-04/07-10
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
Internet
  • Wifi 80-100% coverage
At the reception
  • Reservation with CampingCard ACSI also possible
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Opening hours barrier
    • From - until:08.00-22.00
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
  • Payment by debit card/Maestro possible
  • Reception easily accessible for the disabled
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Also suitable for motorhomes > 8m and > 4 tonnes
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Dog walking area
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Squatting-toilets
  • Children's sanitary facilities
  • Baby room
  • Toilet paper provided
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Water connection at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Waste water drainage at/near the pitch (max. 15 m)
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Fresh bread available at the camp site
  • Groceries: limited selection
  • Snack bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Takeaway meals
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Pizzeria
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Bar
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Safes
  • Lodge tent without toilet facilities
Swimming
  • Outdoor swimming pool
    • heated
    • surface area:130 m2
    • period:10-04/07-10
  • Toddlers' pool (ages 1-3, < 40 cm)
    • surface area:20 m2
    • period:10-04/07-10
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Fishing
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Golf course (at least 6 holes)
    • total:9
  • Golf course nearby (max. 10 km)
    • distance:9 km
    • total:9
Recreation (adults)
  • Cycle routes starting at the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Marked out walking routes near the camp site
    • level:easy
  • Games room
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Pitches with plenty of shade
  • Sunbathing area
  • Marked pitches
Situation of campsite
  • Public transport near the camp site (max. 0.5 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,5 km
  • Situated on river/stream (max. 0.1 km)
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:10-20 ampère
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds
Address & Route

Would you like to book Campsite La Citadelle or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

  • Campsite La Citadelle
    Aristide Briand
    37600 / Loches
    France

  • Download GPS coordinates
    Select your navigation system:

     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:

    47°7'22"N 1°0'7"E
  • Follow camping signs in the centre.

  • Warning! Since July 13 2015, many French campsites are prohibited from installing their own signpost. We advise to use GPS-coordinates to locate the campsite.

  • Contact

  • www.lacitadelle.com

Show on map
Load
The weather on this campsite

Weather forecast

Sun

17 / 12

 

Mon

18 / 12

 

Tue

19 / 12

 

Wed

20 / 12

 

Thu

21 / 12

 

Fri

22 / 12

 

Sat

23 / 12

 
Max. 7.7° 10.4° 7.3° 6.2° 9.4° 9.9° 10°
Min. 1.2° 4.8° 1.2° 0.3° 3.3° 4.7° 3.8°
Precipitation 45% 75% 5% 30% 35% 25% 25%
Wind direction W SW N W W NW NW
Wind speed 2 3 2 2 2 2 2

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 87% 67 2
Feb 84% 58 3
Mar 79% 49 4
Apr 77% 55 5
May 74% 64 7
Jun 71% 48 7
Jul 72% 54 7
Aug 71% 63 8
Sep 77% 59 6
Oct 84% 66 3
Nov 88% 66 3
Dec 88% 75 2
Weeronline
Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite La Citadelle".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.