Go to main content

Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure ***

6.7
Average score View 53 reviews
Visit campsite website
General information

Camp for €18,- a night at Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure in low season with CampingCard ACSI. Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure, located in Chartres (Eure-et-Loir), is a campsite with 97 touring pitches. With your CampingCard ACSI you can camp on one of the pitches during the following periods: 01-09-2020 - 31-10-2020. At this campsite you can not only use your CampingCard ACSI for inexpensive camping, you can also use your ACSI Club ID (as an alternative ID).

Lovely overnight campsite in the centre of the town with plenty of trees and greenery all around. Lovely footpath from campsite through the park to the cathedral. River flows past the campsite. Refurbished playground for the children.

CampingCard ACSI discount 01-09-2020 ⭤ 31/10/2020
  • 18
  • 1962
Detail information about this campsite

Acceptance period

May 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031
June 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930     
July 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
  12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
August 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
     12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      
September 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930    
October 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
   1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031 
November 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
      1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30      
December 2020
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Looking for inexpensive camping in low season? Order CampingCard ACSI

31 CampingCard ACSI accepted

31 Campsite open / CampingCard ACSI not accepted

31 Campsite closed

31 Your holiday period

Reviews (53)

Loading, please wait...

Average rating: 6.7

Add a review
Toilet facilities
6.2
Staff
6.7
Price - quality comparison
6.9
Child friendliness
6.6
Entertainment
6.2
Sports facilities
6.0
Swimming pool
4.5
Food and drink
6.2
Surroundings
7.6

Thomas Johnson, on this campsite in June 2019

4.8

Travelling party: Couple

Very tired old campsite. Soggy under foot but plenty of shade. No fresh water at MH services as tap usable for cassette emptying. Needs a refurbishment.

Nicholas Allington, on this campsite in May 2016

5.3

Travelling party: Couple

Have nearly come to this site several occasions, but reviews put us off. Eventually decided that we had to see Chartres, so gave in. Wished we hadn't! Worst site we have ever stayed on. Unfriendly reception. Site totally uncared for. Long grass, many unusable pitches due to deep rutted mud. Toilets absolutely diabolical. Cleaner did her best against an impossible task. Walk into town for first 1/2 kilometre was very very muddy. Do not stay here!

Janet Foulsham , on this campsite in September 2018

5.1

Travelling party: Couple

Very disappointed not up to the usual acsi standard. On arrival we were not allowed to pay by card even though this is in the acsi book. Lady in reception not at all friendly or helpful. We weren’t given any information about the site and went and found somewhere to pitch up. Toilet facilities are dated and include several squatting toilets. In the men’s there were four toilets , three were squatting toilets and of these , one door didn’t shut. There are outside water points but none of these are working so all water had to be fetched from the dish washing area and camper vans were having to make lots of trips to fill tanks. We arrived just after lunch and found a pitch easily but the site was nearly full be the end of the day. It’s an ideal location for visiting Chartres cathedral which was amazing. Be aware parking in the town is all underground and expensive. There’s a supermarket close to the site.

Bill Warden, on this campsite in March 2017

5.4

Travelling party: Seniors

We were on the site 5 days after it had opened for 2017 season. It had wintered badly, all the pitches were unusable so we pitched on the road. The toilets were out of action and there was no running water on site. Water was available at the reception area. To be fair we were told all of this and given the option before we paid for a "pitch" or rather space. Unfortunately we had had a nightmare journey up from Clermont-Ferrand, horrendous winds and heavy squalls so I was in no state to start looking for another site so late on. Under normal circumstances I would not have entertained it. Going off previous reviews they seem to be consistent problems.

Helen Clutterham, on this campsite in March 2018

5.2

Travelling party: Couple

When we stayed here 17 years ago in a tent the welcome was pretty unfriendly and it hasn’t improved. At least then when they knew we were Australian the attitude changed....gotta feel for the Brits. The toilets are still awful...no seats or toilet paper. It’s no wonder Motorhomers are choosing free camps. If it wasn’t for the beautiful city centre we would leave. Surely these reviews must hurt their business!

John Shirtcliffe, on this campsite in May 2017

5.4

Travelling party: Couple

We stopped here on the way back. Initially it looks very pretty, but it is run by an old couple who really don't seem bothered. The lady had no idea where my passports was and when she did locate it gave me someone else's. The water points weren't working and the toilets were diabolical. On arrival 2 of the 3 ladies weren't working, and the next morning the 3rd was blocked. The only other toilets available were of the French "stand over" style. For the 1st time we left a site without showering - they were just not clean enough. The bins in the toilets were overflowing. We had ordered bread for 8am. It arrived at 8.20 and to be honest wasn't worth waiting for. Make sure you bring your European adapter plug unless you want to pay for one at reception. THe location of this site is what ensures it's survival and as a result the owners know they don't need to try.

Anne Martin, on this campsite in September 2018

5.8

Travelling party: Seniors

The camp seems to have really deteriorated in the 12 months since we were last there. Only one ladies toilet operational. The washing up facilities had no light so I had to use laundry washing area to do the dishes. The camp itself appeared generally grubby and had an uncared for look about it. I didn\'t complain as there was little time between our arrival and departure as we were only there for one night and I just wanted to get away. Would not use again. Does not warrant the price.

Nick Warren, on this campsite in September 2019

5.8

Travelling party: Couple

Used as a stop over returning to the ferry. I have to agree with all the critical posts regarding facilities and pitches. Strangely this camp site had an air of gloom with campers not there usual communicative selves. Could be the outdated shower and toilet facilities coupled with a lack of any signed water points contributed to this. On a positive note good access to Chartres and the cathedral. Also close enough to La Maisonette Picassiette, a house decorated with mosaics of broken China and pottery. Would only recommend the site on the basis of having no where else to go.

Max Pettini, on this campsite in June 2019

5.9

Travelling party: Seniors

Overall, a poor campground, compared to others recommended (and inspected) by ACSI. The facilities are antiquated, only a few of the sites have power. The relatively high cost is not justified in my view. Staff are friendly, no problem there.
Unfortunately, there does not seem to be an alternative if one wants to visit this interesting city.

Cormac Mc Cormack, on this campsite in June 2016

6.9

Travelling party: Couple

Having read some previous reviews we were apprehensive about using this site and unfortunately our fears were justified. Admittedly it was very wet when we arrived but all the grass pitches were unusable and we had to park on one of the site roads with other vehicles passing close to us. The owner operates on a principle of I have your money and do not care after that. Chartres is well worth a visit but this site in our opinion is best avoided.

Facilities

General information

Period of opening *
01-03-2020 till 31-10-2020
Area
3.8 ha
Altitude
128m
Number of touring pitches
97 (100 - 150m2)
Number of camper pitches
4
Campsite suitable for disabled persons
Yes

* The opening period may vary due to the measures surrounding the coronavirus.

** Amenities in bold are not included in the overnight price. Some may need to be paid for. (This does not imply that all amenities not in bold are free!)

Popular amenities
  • Caravans allowed
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
Internet
  • Internet access
  • WiFi zone
    • wifi zone free
At the reception
  • ACSI Club ID is accepted as an identity document
  • Credit cards accepted
    • credit card:MasterCard | Visa Card
Campsite rules
  • Caravans allowed
  • Tents allowed
  • Small extra tent permitted
  • Motorhomes allowed
  • Twin-axle vehicles permitted
  • Also suitable for caravans > 5.5m, excluding towbar
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
  • Barbecues permitted
    • type of BBQ:charcoal | electricity | gas
Dogs
  • Dog(s) in low season (on lead)
    • Max. total:2
Water and toilet facilities
  • Showers: hot water
  • Washbasins: hot water
  • Standard toilets
  • Squatting-toilets
  • Baby room
  • Chemical toilet disposal point
  • Washbasins: cold water
Washing, washing-up, cooking
  • Washing up sinks: hot water
  • Washing up sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: cold water
  • Laundry sinks: hot water
  • Washing machine(s)
  • Dryers
Food, drink and groceries
  • Groceries: limited selection
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Snack bar
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Groceries: extensive selection
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Takeaway meals
    • period:01-07/31-08
  • Pizzeria
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Restaurant (limited choice)
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Self-service restaurant
    • period:01-04/30-09
  • Exchanging of gas cylinders
Available to hire at the campsite
  • Bicycles
  • Safes
Sports and play
  • Children's playground: large
  • Table tennis table
  • Jeu de boules alley(s)
  • Fishing
  • Multi-sports field
Recreation (adults)
  • Television
Ground and vegetation
  • Grass
  • Unshaded pitches
  • Pitches with some shade
  • Sunbathing area
Situation of campsite
  • Close to motorway junction (< 10 km)
    • distance:1 km
  • Shopping opportunities in the vicinity (< 10 km)
    • distance:0,03 km
  • Situated on river/stream (max. 0.1 km)
Disabled
  • Door-springs light enough (3-4 kgs pressure)
  • Toilet-shower combination (215cmsx215cms minimum)
  • Water and toilet facilities for disabled people not in the same building, but fitted with alarm
  • Shower seat / shower chair (folding or mobile) approximately 48 cm high
  • Canteen/restaurant with level entrance or with ramp
  • Tap without push control
Miscellaneous
  • Quiet during the day and at night
  • Special pitches for motorhomes
    • Surface area:100 m2
    • Amount:4
  • Special facilities for motorhomes
  • Euro-plug required
  • Electrical hook-ups possible to maximum %s amps
    • Max. electricity:6 ampère
  • Footpaths and roads are lit
  • Patrolled grounds

Weather

The weather on this campsite

Average temperature

Climate

Relative humidity Precipitation total (mm) Hours of sunshine
Jan 86% 58 2
Feb 84% 48 3
Mar 77% 70 3
Apr 78% 97 3
May 70% 63 6
Jun 69% 52 7
Jul 71% 134 6
Aug 68% 54 7
Sep 78% 69 6
Oct 84% 73 4
Nov 87% 77 2
Dec 87% 97 2

Weather forecast

Wed

08 / 07

 

Thu

09 / 07

 

Fri

10 / 07

 

Sat

11 / 07

 

Sun

12 / 07

 

Mon

13 / 07

 

Tue

14 / 07

 
Max. 25.3° 27.8° 22.2° 23.2° 25.6° 27.8° 27.8°
Min. 10.6° 14.9° 16.1° 9.5° 10.5° 12.6°
Precipitation 5% 10% 20% 5% 5% 5% 10%
Wind direction W W W N NO NO NO
Wind speed 3 3 3 3 3 3 3
Weeronline

Location

Location
Load
  • Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure
    9 rue de Launay
    28000 / Chartres
    France
  • Download GPS coordinates Select your navigation system:
     
    • TomTom (ov2)
    • Garmin (gpx)
    • CSV
  • Google routeplanner
    Coordinates:
    48°26'3"N 1°29'56"E
  • Located to the southeast of the city. Drive via the N10 and take the ring road N123 until the intersection with the N154. Then follow the signs 'Centre Douane' and afterwards follow the campsite signs.

  • Warning! Since July 13 2015, many French campsites are prohibited from installing their own signpost. We advise to use GPS-coordinates to locate the campsite.

Contact

Contact

Would you like to book Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure or request more information? You can do both using the information below or by visiting the campsite's website.

Contact
Campsite website
Information request

Please contact us

Information request

Information request

CampingCard ACSI will send your information request to "Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure".

Take note; you are sending an information request. You cannot make a reservation using this form. You will need to contact the campsite directly and CampingCard ACSI cannot have any influence on the consequences thereof.

1 Information request What do you want to do?
Ask your question:
(in the language of the country where the campsite is located or in English)
2 Your data

3 Your request
In which language would you prefer to receive a reply? Take note; it is possible that the campsite may not be able to comply with this request.


Campsite Les Bords de l'Eure ***

Campsite really open? Do the Corona Camping Check | Stay informed about camping in Corona time